Young midfielder named Jets best

Midfielder Steven Ugarkovic took out the top gong at the annual Newcastle Jets Awards held at the Newcastle Exhibition & Convention Centre on Monday evening.

Ugarkovic, 22, started in the heart of the Jets midfield in 24 of Newcastle’s 27 matches this season, and scored one goal - a brilliant strike against Brisbane Roar in round 2.

Midfield: Steven Ugarkovic (Jets)

Alongside Ugarkovic, the other big winners on the night were Andrew Nabbout and youngster Angus Thurgate.

Nabbout took home a range of awards for his exploits during his first season in Jets colours including the Club’s Members Player of the Year prize, the Men of Football Ray Baartz Medal, as well as the team’s Hyundai A-League Golden Boot (eight goals).

Thurgate was honoured as the Club’s FOXTEL National Youth League Player of the Year for his performances for Clayton Zane’s charges in Australia’s premier youth competition.

Meanwhile Harrison Sawyer and Kristian Brymora were recognised as the equal top goal-getters for the Club’s FOXTEL NYL team. Sawyer and Brymora finished the eight game season with three goals each.

Newcastle Jets Youth League Kit Manager David Cleary was recognised for his commitment to the Club on the evening when he was presented with the Club Person of the Year Award.

The night, hosted by FOX SPORTS Football personality Adam Peacock, also featured a special presentation to long-serving attacker Labinot Haliti. In the Jets’ final match of the 2016/17 season Haliti chalked up his 100th Hyundai A-League appearance for the Club.

Newcastle Jets 2017 Award Winners

  • Newcastle Jets Hyundai A-League Player of the Year: Steven Ugarkovic
  • Newcastle Jets Westfield W-League Player of the Year: Cassidy Davis
  • Newcastle Jets FOXTEL National Youth League Player of the Year: Angus Thurgate
  • Newcastle Jets Club Person of the Year: David Cleary
  • Newcastle Jets Hyundai A-League Member’s Player of the Year: Andrew Nabbout
  • Men of Football Ray Baartz Medal: Andrew Nabbout
  • Newcastle Jets Hyundai A-League Golden Boot: Andrew Nabbout
  • Newcastle Jets Westfield W-League Golden Boot: Jen Hoy & Jenna Kingsley
  • Newcastle Jets FOXTEL National Youth League Golden Boot: Harrison Sawyer & Kristian Brymora