Young gun Arzani among PFA award winners

Melbourne City starlet Daniel Arzani’s breakout season in the Hyundai A-League – and subsequent Caltex Socceroos debut – has seen him win the Harry Kewell Medal at the PFA Awards on Tuesday night.

The medal is awarded to the U23 Player of the Year with Arzani taking the top award ahead of Joe Champness, Chris Ikonomidis, Riley McGree and Daniel De Silva.

FAREWELL TO A LEGEND: Berisha's Hyundai A-League legacy analysed 

STEFAN MAUK: We want to win everything

Arzani has a superb end to the season with City in the Hyundai A-League, earning him a spot in Bert van Marwijk’s Caltex Socceroos squad for the FIFA World Cup™ in Russia.

The 19-year-old featured in all three group games at the tournament against France, Denmark and Peru.

“I’m extremely grateful and flattered to be named PFA Harry Kewell Medallist for 2018,” he said.

“To be voted by fellow players to win an award named after one of Australia’s most iconic players is very special and I’m honoured to be included on a list with such great past winners.”

It is the 25th year the PFA have handed out the awards, marking the occasion with a gala dinner and ceremony at ANZ Stadium.

In other awards presented, Caltex Socceroos playmaker Aaron Mooy was named the Men’s Footballer of the year

It’s the third year in a row Mooy has won the prestigious accolade, voted on by his peers.

The 27-year-old is coming off a superb campaign for Huddersfield Town in his first season in the English Premier League, as well as starring for the Caltex Socceroos at the FIFA World Cup™ in Russia.

Westfield Matildas and Perth Glory star Sam Kerr was named Women’s Footballer of the Year for the second straight year.

Kerr not only starred for Australia at the Tournament of Nations and this year’s AFC Women’s Asian Cup but was also voted the best player in America’s National Women’s Soccer League and set a goal-scoring record with 17 in a single season.

The 24-year-old was also named the AFC Women’s Football of the Year as well as being named the Julie Dolan Medal for the Westfield W-League 2016/17 Season and 2017/18 Season (alongside Clare Polkinghorne).

Adelaide United midfielder Alex Chidiac – currently playing with the Westfield Young Matildas – took out the Young Women's Footballer prize.

2018 PFA Awards in full:

PFA Community Medal - Nigel Boogaard (Newcastle Jets)
PFA Young Women's Footballer of the Year - Alex Chidiac (Adelaide United)
PFA Women's Footballer of the Year - Sam Kerr (Chicago Red Stars)
PFA Harry Kewell Medal: Daniel Arzani (Melbourne City)
PFA Men's Footballer of the Year: Aaron Mooy (Huddersfield Town)
PFA Alex Tobin OAM Medal: Paul Okon