Westfield W-League Grand Final Preview

This is the official FFA preview for the Westfield W-League 2009 Grand Final.

Brisbane-s feast of football kicks off this weekend with the inaugural Westfield W-League 2009 Grand Final. Don-t miss this history-making event!

The historic first Grand Final of the Westfield W-League is set up for a fascinating match-up between the runaway leader on the final WWL ladder - Queensland Roar - and the only team to have defeated the Roar - Canberra United. In fact, Canberra was the only team to take any points off Queensland in the regular season: Canberra won the Round 2 fixture 1-0 in Brisbane, while the teams drew 1-1 in the Round 10 fixture in Canberra.

Grand Final

Queensland Roar v Canberra United Saturday 17 January Ballymore Stadium Local kick off 3.00pm AQST (4.00pmAEDT) Referee: Kate Jacewicz

Live and exclusive on ABC 1 and ABC HD at 3.50pm AEDT

Queensland Roar squad: 1.Casey DUMONT (gk), 2.Kate McSHEA, 3.Karla REUTER, 4.Clare POLKINGHORNE, 5.Brooke SPENCE, 8.Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT, 10.Lana HARCH, 11.Ruth BLACKBURN, 13.Tameka BUTT, 14.Vedrana POPOVIC, 15.Stephanie LATHAM, 16.Lauren COLTHORPE, 17.Tashina ROMA, 18.Courtney BEUTEL, 19.Ellen BEAUMONT, 20.Lara BOON (gk)

In: 17.Tashina ROMA (promoted)

Out: 9.Alicia FERGUSON (injury - knee)

Others Unavailable: 6.Jenna TRISTRAM (knee - season), 7.Kim CARROLL (knee - season)

Canberra United squad: 1.Lydia WILLIAMS, 2.Rhian DAVIES, 3.Amy CHAPMAN, 4.Bronwyn STUDMAN, 5.Sasha McDONNELL, 6.Caitlin MUNOZ, 7.Ellie BRUSH, 8.Rebecca KITING, 9.Grace GILL, 10.Hayley CRAWFORD, 11.Cian MACIEJEWSKI, 12.Kara MOWBRAY, 13.Thea SLATYER, 14.Ashleigh SYKES, 19.Jennifer BISSET, 20.Maja BLASCH

In: Nil

Out: Nil

Others Unavailable: Nil

Form Guide: Queensland and Canberra go into the Grand Final with an identical form run in the past five games - 3 wins and 2 draws. Queensland-s sequence of most recent results is W-W-W-D-D, while Canberra-s is D-W-W-D-W.

Stats, facts & milestones

Shot-stoppers: A remarkably similar record exists between Queensland-s main goalkeeper Casey Dumont, and Canberra-s main goalkeeper Lydia Williams, who have each kept five clean sheets throughout the season so far. In their past four games, each goalkeeper has let in just three goals.

Sharp-shooters: Queensland-s top scorers for the season so far are Courtney Beutel (6 goals), Lana Harch (5) and Lauren Colthorpe (4); while Canberra-s top scorers and Ellie Brush, Kara Mowbray and Caitlin Munoz (3 goals each).

HEAD-TO-HEAD RECORDS in all official competitions All matches (played 2): Queensland wins 0, Canberra wins 1 (1 draw). In Brisbane (played 1): Queensland wins 0, Canberra wins 1

Note. - Squads subject to change - Match date and kick-off times are subject to change without notice.

Click here to view the Westfield W-League 2008-09 Ladder


Sasha McDonnell (Canberra United) turns 22 on Monday 12-Jan