Westfield W-League 2009 Round 8 Preview

Round 8 of the Westfield W-League comes to you this weekend with a double header at Leichhardt Oval on Saturday with Sydney FC hosting Perth Glory followed by Central Coast Mariners taking on Melbourne Victory.

Congratulations to Michelle Heyman who not only scored a hat-trick on the weekend but also snagged the 200th Westfield W-League goal with her 22nd minute goal against Adelaide United at Hindmarsh Stadium last Saturday.

Round 8 of the Westfield W-League comes to you this weekend with a double header at Leichhardt Oval on Saturday with Sydney FC hosting Perth Glory followed by Central Coast Mariners taking on Melbourne Victory. It-s a 4-way battle for a place in the finals with wins for Sydney and Central Coast almost guaranteeing them a place in the semi-finals on 12/13 December. The Victory and Glory girls however will be looking to prove their qualities in a bid to find a place in the finals series. They should prove to be tense ties with so many internationals and Westfield Matilda hopefuls on show in this Westfield W-League showpiece event.

On Sunday it-s Newcastle Jets at home to Canberra United in a Hyundai A-League curtain raiser at EnergyAustralia Stadium. Following their narrow 1-0 loss to Sydney FC Jets no longer have a chance to make the finals series but will be playing for pride and could very well help decide who will get to the top four of the ladder in time for the finals. Jets will be missing their captain Hayley Crawford through suspension and will rely on their youngsters to get them over a Canberra team that are finding their from at the right end of the competition.

Finally it-s off to Brisbane and a David and Goliath match-up as Brisbane Roar host Adelaide United in a match that pits top v bottom in the Westfield W-League 2009 season. Although losing fullback Brooke Spence to a season ending ankle injury Brisbane Roar will be looking to continue the form that has seen them retain the only undefeated record in the competition to-date. Adelaide will be playing for pride as they still continue to work hard in the league but will be up against it when they face the inaugural champions at Ballymore Stadium.

This is the Official Preview for Round 7 of the Westfield W-League. Please note that squads are subject to change.

Sydney FC v Perth Glory Saturday, 21 November 2009 Leichhardt Oval, Leichhardt Local kick-off: 3.00pm Referee: Prue Donohue

Live and exclusive on ABC1 and ABC HD from 3.00pm AEDT

Sydney FC squad: 1. Nikola DEITER (gk), 2. Teigan ALLEN, 4. Alesha CLIFFORD, 5. Lisa GILBERT, 6. Servet UZUNLAR, 7. Heather GARRIOCK (c), 8. Julie RYDAHL, 9. Sarah WALSH, 10. Kylie LEDBROOK, 11. Cathrine PAASKE, 12. Michelle CARNEY, 13. Catherine CANNULI, 15. Kyah SIMON, 16. Linda O-NEILL, 18.Brittany WHITFIELD, 19. Leena KHAMIS, 20. Carla MONFORTE (gk) *two to be omitted*

In: Teigan ALLEN (international duty), Brittany WHITFIELD (international duty)

Out: Nil

Unavailable: Nicola BOLGER (knee - season) Danielle BROGAN (knee - season)

Perth Glory squad: 1. Emma WIRKUS (GK), 3. Carys HAWKINS, 4. Sam Kerr, 5. Shannon MAY, 6. Ella MASTRANTONIO, 7. Elissia CANHAM, 8. Tanya OXTOBY (C), 9. Dani CALAUTTI, 10. Ciara CONWAY, 11. Lisa DE VANNA, 12. Katie GILL, 13. Elisa D-OVIDIO, 15. Alex SINGER, 16. Sadie LAWRENCE, 17. Marianna TABAIN, 18. Ellis GLANFIELD, 19. Katarina JUKIC, 20. Zoe PALANDRI *three to be omitted*

In: Ciara CONWAY (promoted), Katie GILL (new signing)

Out: Jaymee GIBBONS

Unavailable: Collette McCALLUM (ankle - indefinite)

Central Coast Mariners v Melbourne Victory Saturday, 21 November 2009 Leichhardt Oval, Leichhardt Local kick-off: 5.00pm Referee: Kirralee Gardener

Central Coast Mariners squad: 1. Jillian LOYDEN (gk), 2. Caitlin COOPER, 3. Lyndsay GLOHE, 4. Rachael DOYLE, 5. Jessica SEAMAN, 7. Teresa POLIAS, 8. Kelly GOLEBIOWSKI, 9. Renee ROLLASON, 10. Kendall FLETCHER, 11. Michelle HEYMAN, 12. Samantha SPACKMAN, 13. Trudy CAMILLERI, 14. Ashleigh CONNOR, 15. Elizabeth O'REILLY, 16. Jenna KINGSLEY, 17. Britt SIMMONS, 19. Lydia VANDENBERGH, 20. Rachel COOPER (gk) *three to be omitted*

In: Trudy CAMILLERI (promoted), Elizabeth O'REILLY (promoted), Britt SIMMONS (promoted)

Out: Nil

Unavailable: Nil

Melbourne Victory squad: 1. Melissa BARBIERI (gk), 2. Vedrana POPOVIC, 3. Marlies OOSTDAM, 4. Tal KARP, 5. Laura ALLEWAY, 6. Maika RUYTER-HOOLEY, 8. Katie THORLAKSON, 9. Stephanie CATLEY, 10. Deanna NICESKI, 12. Monnique HANSEN KOFOED, 13. Katrina GORRY, 14. Selin KURALAY, 18. Ursula HUGHSON, 19. Enza BARILLA, 20. Nicole PAUL (gk) *one to be omitted*

In: Stephanie CATLEY (returns from international duty) Katrina GORRY (returns from injury), Caitlin FRIEND (returns from international duty), Enza BARILLA (returns from illness)

Out: Gulcan KOCA (not selected), Julianne SITCH (suspended), Kara MOWBRAY (contract expired)

Unavailable: Nil

Sunday, 22 November 2009 Newcastle Jets v Canberra United EnergyAustralia Stadium, Newcastle Local kick-off: 2.15pm Referee: TBA

Newcastle Jets squad: 1. Alison LOGUE (gk), 2. Libby SHARPE, 3. Pelay INGLES, 5. Stacey DAY, 6. Amber NEILSON (c), 7. Gema SIMON, 8. Bronte BATES, 9. Kate HENSMAN, 11. Carlie IKONOMOU, 12. Emma STEWART, 13. Caitlin JARVIE, 14. Hannah BREWER, 15. Renee CARTWRIGHT, 16. Kirstyn PEARCE, 17. Madeline Searl, 18. Leia SMITH, 19. Tara ANDREWS, 20. Emma-Kate DEWHURST (gk) *three to be omitted*

In: Hannah BREWER (International Duty), Madeline SEARL (International Duty), Tara ANDREWS (International Duty)

Out: Harmonie ATTWILL (not selected), Nicole JONES (not selected)

Unavailable: Hayley CRAWFORD (suspended - 1 week), Loren MAHONEY (injured)

Canberra United Squad: 1. Lydia WILLIAMS, 2. Rebecca KITING, 3. Bronwyn STUDMAN, 5. Kahlia HOGG, 6. Ellie RAYMOND, 7. Ellie BRUSH, 8. Emily VAN EGMOND, 9. Grace GILL, 10. TSENG Shu O, 11. Cian MACIEJEWSKI, 12. Snez VELJANOVSKA, 14. Ashleigh SYKES, 15. Nicole SYKES, 16. Ellyse PERRY, 19. Jen BISSET, 20. Jocelyn MARA, 22. Lucy ALLAN *one to be omitted*

In: Emily VAN EGMOND (returning from international duty), Lucy ALLAN (promoted)

Out: Nil

Unavailable: LIN Chiung Ying (injury - knee - season), Christine WALTERS (injury - calf - indefinitely), Sally SHIPARD (awaiting international clearance)

Brisbane Roar v Adelaide United Sunday, 22 November 2009 Ballymore Stadium, Brisbane Local kick-off: 6.00pm (7.00pm AEDT) Referee: Rebecca Durcau

Brisbane Roar squad: 1. Casey DUMONT (gk) 2. Kate MCSHEA, 3. Karla REUTER 4. Clare POLKINGHORNE (c), 6. Joanne BURGESS, 7. Pam BIGNOLD, 8. Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT, 9 Jenna TRISTRAM, 10.Lana HARCH, 11. Aivi LUIK, 12. Steph LATHAM 13. Tameka BUTT, 14.Sasha MCDONNELL 15. Leah CURTIS 16. Lauren COLTHORPE 18. Courtney BEUTEL, 19. Ellen BEAUMONT, 20. Kate STEWART (gk) *four to be omitted*

In: Leah CURTIS (promoted), Jenna TRISTRAM (promoted), Pam Bignold (promoted)

Out: Brooke SPENCE (ankle - season)

Unavailable: Emily GIELNIK (foot)

Adelaide United squad: 1.Sian McLAREN (gk), 5.Ashlee FAUL, 6.Thomai KEZIOS, 7.Racheal QUIGLEY, 8.Ruth WALLACE, 9.Angela FIMMANO, 11.Georgia CHAPMAN, 13.Lauren CHILVERS, 14.Donna COCKAYNE, 15.Tenneille BOALER, 16.Christina PAPAGEORGIOU (c), 17.Karina ROWETH, 18.Rochelle KUHAR, 19. Nenita BURGESS, 20.Kristi HARVEY (gk), 21.Greta FRENCH-KENNEDY *one to be omitted*

In: Ashlee FAUL (returns from international duty), Ruth WALLACE (returns from international duty), Angela FIMMANO (return from injury)

Out: Renee HARRISON (suspended - 1 week), Katerina BEXIS (hamstring - 1 week)

Unavailable: Ebony WEIDENBACH (ankle - 1 week), Ruth BLACKBURN (ankle - season) Marijana RAJCIC (ankle - season)