Western Sydney Wanderers v Perth Glory: match preview

Western Sydney Wanderers kept their slender Finals Series hopes alive by beating Wellington Phoenix – but they must go near perfect over their last three matches starting with Perth Glory.

The Red and Black occupy eighth position in the Hyundai A-League ladder, four points off the top six, having played a game fewer than Adelaide United and two matches more than seventh-placed Western United.

Kwame Yeboah’s match-winning strike clinched the upset against the Kiwi club, and Jean-Paul de Marigny’s men cannot afford to let their momentum dissipate if they are to secure a first finals appearance in three seasons.

The Western Australians have hit the skids in recent weeks, slipping to fifth place in the table following back-to-back defeats abasing Wellington, 2-1, and Adelaide, 5-3.

Tony Popovic will be determined to flip the form book against his former club and ensure last year’s Premiers and Grand Finalists have a part to play in the business end of the 2019/20 campaign.

Glory have recorded maximum points against the Wanderers this season. Bruno Fornaroli’s goal earned Perth a 1-0 win at Bankwest Stadium in Round 15, following a 2-0 triumph at HBF Park in Round 10.

updated banner

Tuesday, August 4 2020
Kick-off: 7.30pm AEST
Venue: Bankwest Stadium
Broadcast: FOX Sports 507
Stream: MyFootball Live App, Kayo Sports

Ways to watch

Download the MyFootball Live App now
Sign up for Kayo Sports
Get Foxtel

How to follow the action

Match centre: Live updates, videos and statistics

Follow @ALeague on Twitter and join the conversation using #WSWvPER #ALeague

Kwame Yeboah
Kwame Yeboah hit the winner against Wellington Phoenix last Friday to keep Wanderers' finals hopes alive

Team news

Western Sydney Wanderers FC squad: 4.Dylan McGOWAN, 5.Daniel GEORGIEVSKI, 6.Matthew JURMAN, 8.Jordan O’DOHERTY, 7.Mitchell DUKE (c), 10.Simon COX, 11.Bruce KAMAU, 13.Tass MOURDOUKOUTAS, 16.Mathieu CORDIER, 17.Keanu BACCUS, 19.Pirmin SCHWEGLER, 22.Nicholas SULLIVAN, 23.Kosta GROZOS, 27.Kwame YEBOAH, 28.Fabian MONGE, 33.Tate RUSSELL, 34.Patrick ZIEGLER, 35.Mo ADAM, 40.Nicholas SUMAN (gk), 50.Tristan PRENDERGAST (gk) **2-4 to be omitted**

Ins: 16.Mathieu CORDIER (promoted), 23.Kosta GROZOS (promoted), 28.Fabian MONGE (promoted)
Outs: 9.Nicolai MULLER (concussion)
Unavailable: 1.Daniel LOPAR (returned home), 20.Vedran JANJETOVIC (shoulder), 29.Daniel WILMERING (knee), Radoslaw MAJEWSKI (knee).

Perth Glory squad: 2.Alex GRANT, 3.Jacob TRATT, 5.Ivan FRANJIC, 8.James MEREDITH, 9.Bruno FORNAROLI, 13.Osama MALIK, 18.Nick D'AGOSTINO, 20.Jake BRIMMER, 21.Tarek ELRICH, 22.Vince LIA, 23.Dane INGHAM, 25.Carlo ARMIENTO, 27.JUANDE, 28.Gabriel POPOVIC, 29.Kristian POPOVIC, 33.Liam REDDY (gk), 50.Daniel MARGUSH (gk), 88.Neil KILKENNY (C) **0-2 to be omitted**

 Ins: Nil
Outs: Nil
Unavailable: Nil

Ben Halloran; Neil Kilkenny
Neil Kilkenny battles for possession in Glory's rollercoaster 5-3 loss against Adelaide United last Thursday.

Did you know?

  • Perth Glory are undefeated in their last seven Hyundai A-League games against Western Sydney Wanderers.
  • The Wanderers are undefeated at Bankwest Stadium under Jean-Paul de Marigny, with two wins and two draws.
  • No team has scored more (nine) or conceded fewer (four) headed goals than the Wanderers in 2019/20.
  • Glory striker Bruno Fornaroli has scored four goals from outside the box this season, more than any other player.


Western Sydney Wanderers v Perth Glory - pick a winner

Pick a winner
Western Sydney Wanderers FC
Western Sydney Wanderers FC
Perth Glory
Perth Glory

Thanks for your pick