Western Sydney Wanderers v Melbourne Victory: match preview

Western Sydney Wanderers and Melbourne Victory will both be looking to end tumultuous campaigns on a high when they clash at Bankwest Stadium on Wednesday night.

Wanderers (ninth) and Victory (tenth) are both at the wrong end of the ladder and won’t feature in the finals, which is consider a failure for clubs of their size.

But the time to start rebuilding for the 2020/21 campaign has already begun and what better way to head into the next season than with a win.

And there could be goals in this one, with the Wanderers involved in an eight-goal thriller in their last outing (losing 5-3 to Western United FC), while Victory ran rampant against Perth Glory in their last match, winning 4-0.

updated banner

Wednesday, August 11 2020
Kick-off: 8.10pm AEST
Venue: Bankwest Stadium
Broadcast: FOX Sports 507
Stream: MyFootball Live App, Kayo Sports

Ways to watch

Download the MyFootball Live App now
Sign up for Kayo Sports
Get Foxtel

Marco Rojas
Marco Rojas has scored four of Victory's eight goals since the competition's resumption

How to follow the action

Match centre: Live updates, videos and statistics

Follow @ALeague on Twitter and join the conversation using #WSWvMVC #ALeague

Team news

Western Sydney Wanderers FC: 4.Dylan McGOWAN, 5.Daniel GEORGIEVSKI, 6.Matthew JURMAN, 7.Mitchell DUKE (c), 8.Jordan O’DOHERTY, 10.Simon COX, 11.Bruce KAMAU, 13.Tass MOURDOUKOUTAS, 16.Mathieu CORDIER, 17.Keanu BACCUS, 19.Pirmin SCHWEGLER, 22.Nicholas SULLIVAN, 23.Kosta GROZOS, 27.Kwame YEBOAH, 28.Fabian MONGE, 33.Tate RUSSELL, 34.Patrick ZIEGLER, 35.Mohamed ADAM, 40.Nicholas SUMAN (gk), 50.Tristan PRENDERGAST (gk) **2-4 to be omitted**

Ins: 16.Mathieu CORDIER (promoted), 28.Fabian MONGE (promoted)
Outs: nil
Unavailable: 1.Daniel LOPAR (returned home), 9.Nicolai MULLER (concussion), 20.Vedran JANJETOVIC (shoulder), 29.Daniel WILMERING (knee), Radoslaw MAJEWSKI

 Melbourne Victory squad: 1.Matt ACTON (gk), 2.Storm ROUX, 4.James DONACHIE, 6.Leigh BROXHAM (c), 9.Andrew NABBOUT, 13.Birkan KIRDAR, 15.Giancarlo GALLIFUOCO, 16.Josh HOPE, 17.Elvis KAMSOBA, 18.Migjen BASHA, 19.Ben CARRIGAN, 21.Adama TRAORE, 23.Marco ROJAS, 26.Jay BARNETT, 30.Matthew SUTTON (gk), 31.Aaron ANDERSON, 38.So NISHIKAWA, 39.Lleyton BROOKS, 43.Luis LAWRIE-LATTANZIO, 46.Josh VARGA **2-4 to be omitted**

In: 19. Ben CARRIGAN (promoted), 46. Josh VARGA (promoted)
Out: Nil
Unavailable: 5.Tim HOOGLAND (released), 8.Jakob POULSEN (released), 10.Robbie KRUSE (knee - season), 11.Ola TOIVONEN (released), 20.Lawrence Thomas (released), 24.Anthony LESIOTIS (injured - ankle)

Youngster Fabian Monge has been added to the Wanderers' squad


Western Sydney Wanderers v Melbourne Victory

Pick a winner
Western Sydney Wanderers FC
Western Sydney Wanderers FC
Melbourne Victory
Melbourne Victory

Western Sydney Wanderers v Melbourne Victory

around the grounds