Wellington Phoenix v Perth Glory: match preview

Wellington Phoenix are expected to unleash marquee striker Gary Hooper for Sunday's visit of reigning Hyundai A-League Premiers Perth Glory. 

Hooper, fresh from his signature for the New Zealand club last week, should provide a massive boost to a Phoenix side who have created more chances (32) than any other club during the opening two rounds, but have just one goal and zero points to show for it. 

Undoubtedly, Perth will have a game on their hands should the Kiwis muster a performance of similar dynamism and energy.

Glory drew 1-1 with Western United last Saturday, with coach Tony Popovic's son Kristian netting a second half equaliser, to follow up their opening day stalemate with Brisbane Roar. 

Click here to buy tickets

Sunday, 27 October 2019
Kick-off: 4.00pm AEDT (6.00pm local time)
Venue: Westpac Stadium
Broadcast: FOX Sports 505 
Stream: MyFootball Live App, Kayo Sports

Ways to watch

Download the MyFootball Live App now
Sign up for Kayo Sports
Get Foxtel

How to follow the action

Match centre: Live updates, videos and statistics

Follow @ALeague on Twitter and join the conversation using #WELvPER #ALeague 

Team news

Wellington Phoenix squad: 1.Stefan MARINOVIC (gk), 2.Liam McGING, 3.Luke DEVERE, 4.Te Atawhai HUDSON-WIHONGI, 5.Matti STEINMANN, 6.Tim PAYNE, 7.Reno PISCOPO, 8.Cameron DEVLIN, 9.David BALL, 10.Ulises DAVILA, 11.Jaushua SOTIRIO, 14.Alex RUFER, 16.Louis FENTON, 17.Callan ELLIOT, 20.Oliver SAIL (gk), 21.Callum MCCOWATT, 23.Walter SCOTT, 27.Steven TAYLOR (c), 31.Ben WAINE, 88.Gary HOOPER
**2-4 to be omitted**

Ins: 2.Liam McGING (promoted), 17.Callan ELLIOT (promoted), 23.Walter SCOTT (promoted), 88.Gary HOOPER (new signing)

Outs: 13.Liberato CACACE (suspended - 2 matches)

Unavailable: Nil

Perth Glory squad: 1.Tando VELAPHI (gk), 2.Alex GRANT, 3.Jacob TRATT, 4.Gregory WUTHRICH, 5.Ivan FRANJIC, 6.Dino DJULBIC, 7.Joel CHIANESE, 9.Bruno FORNAROLI, 12.Kim SOO-BEOM 13.Osama MALIK, 14.Chris HAROLD, 15.Brandon WILSON, 16.Tomislav MRCELA, 17.Diego CASTRO (c), 19.Chris IKONOMIDIS, 27.JUANDE, 28.Gabriel POPOVIC, 29.Kristian POPOVIC, 33.Liam REDDY (gk), 88.Neil KILKENNY
 **2-4 to be omitted**

Ins: 5.Ivan FRANJIC (promoted), 15.Brandon WILSON (promoted), 16.Tomislav MRCELA (promoted)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: Nil

Did you know?

  • Wellington Phoenix are undefeated in their last four Hyundai A-League matches at home against Perth Glory (W2, D2), after going winless against them in their five meetings at home prior (D2, L3).
  • Only Sydney FC (63) have had more touches in the opposition box than Wellington Phoenix (62) in the Hyundai A-League 2019/20 Season. Perth Glory have had the third most (44).
  • Glory skipper Diego Castro is set to play his 100th Hyundai A-League game this weekend. Castro has created 230 scoring chances since debuting in the competition – 21 more than any other player.

Wellington Phoenix v Perth Glory

Pick a winner
Wellington Phoenix
Wellington Phoenix
Perth Glory
Perth Glory

Wellington Phoenix v Perth Glory