Wellington Phoenix v Brisbane Roar: match preview

It may only be Round 7 but Saturday night’s visit of Brisbane Roar already feels like potentially a season-defining clash for Wellington Phoenix.

The New Zealand outfit are the only side in the Hyundai A-League yet to register a win so far in the 2019/20 campaign.

Last weekend’s bye – mixed with other results – mean Ufuk Talay’s men are three points adrift at the bottom.

But the likes of youngster Callum McCowatt – who scored on his international debut last week – and Liberato Cacace should have plenty of confidence after excellent performances for the All Whites.

Roar will head across the Tasman buoyed by picking up their first win of the season against Melbourne City on Sunday.

Robbie Fowler’s side showed all their fighting qualities to fightback from two goals down – on two occasions – to win 4-3 and kick-start their campaign.

Get set for an entertaining affair at Westpac Stadium.

Click here to buy tickets

Saturday, November 23 2019
Kick-off: 7pm local, 5.00pm AEDT
Venue: Westpac Stadium
Broadcast: FOX Sports, ABC
Stream: MyFootball Live App, Kayo Sports, ABC iView
Click to watch a replay of the match on ABC iView

HOW TO WATCH: Every match in Round 7 of the Hyundai A-League

Watch Hyundai A-League Live and Free on ABC and iView

Ways to watch

Download the MyFootball Live App now
Sign up for Kayo Sports
Get Foxtel

Roy O'Donovan completed a remarkable turnaround for Brisbane Roar

How to follow the action

Match centre: Live updates, videos and statistics

Follow @ALeague on Twitter and join the conversation using #WELv#BRI #ALeague 


Team news

Wellington Phoenix squad: 1.Stefan MARINOVIC (gk), 2.Liam McGING, 3.Luke DEVERE, 4.Te Atawhai HUDSON-WIHONGI, 5.Matti STEINMANN, 6.Tim PAYNE, 7.Reno PISCOPO, 8.Cameron DEVLIN, 9.David BALL, 10.Ulises DAVILA, 11.Jaushua SOTIRIO, 13.Liberato CACACE, 14.Alex RUFER, 20.Oliver SAIL (gk), 21.Callum MCCOWATT, 23.Walter SCOTT, 27.Steven TAYLOR (c), 31.Ben WAINE, 32. Sam SUTTON, 88. Gary HOOPER **2-4 to be omitted**

 Ins: 2. Liam McGING (promoted), 23.Walter SCOTT (promoted), 88. Gary HOOPER (returning from injury)
Outs: Nil
Unavailable: 16.Louis FENTON (shoulder)

Brisbane Roar squad: 1.Max CROCOMBE (gk), 2.Scott NEVILLE, 4.Daniel BOWLES, 5.Tom ALDRED (c), 6.Macaulay GILLESPHEY, 7.Jai INGHAM, 8.Jacob PEPPER, 9.Roy O’DONOVAN, 10.Bradden INMAN, 12.Aiden O’NEILL, 13.Stefan MAUK, 14.George MELLS, 15.Aaron REARDON, 20.Aaron AMADI-HOLLOWAY, 21.Jamie YOUNG (gk), 22.Jake MCGING, 23.Dylan WENZEL-HALLS, 25.Rahmat AKBARI, 26.Jay O’SHEA, 29.Jordan COURTNEY-PERKINS **2-4 to be omitted**

Ins: 12.Aiden O’NEILL (promoted), 15.Aaron REARDON (promoted)
Outs: Nil
Unavailable: 19.Jack HINGERT (knee), 24.Connor O’TOOLE (international duty)

Where heroes are made

Did you know?

  • There has been a total of 15 goals scored in the last three Hyundai A-League meetings between Wellington Phoenix and Brisbane Roar at Westpac Stadium, with the home side unbeaten in that time (1W, 2D).
  • The Phoenix are winless in their last seven Hyundai A-League games. The last time they went longer without a victory was an eight-game span between March and October in 2016.
  • The Roar are the only team in the Hyundai A-League this season yet to score a first-half goal.

Round 7: Wellington Phoenix v Brisbane Roar

Pick a winner
Wellington Phoenix
Wellington Phoenix
Brisbane Roar FC
Brisbane Roar FC

Thanks for your vote

Mini Matches