W-League Preview: Brisbane Roar v Adelaide United

On paper this shapes as a mismatch of massive proportions.

Brisbane Roar v Adelaide United Sunday 15 December 2013 Queensland Sports & Athletic Centre (QSAC), Brisbane Local kick-off: 2pm (3pm AEDT)

** Catch all the action Live* at 3.00pm on ABC1. Or catch up from Monday on ABC iView with a full replay at 3.30am on Thursday (*live in AEDT states)

On paper this shapes as a mismatch of massive proportions. The Roar are two-time champions and boast a host of Westfield Matildas in their squad. Adelaide have held the wooden spoon in each of the past three seasons, winning just six of their 56 matches.

The Westfield W-League, though, has a habit of producing surprises and this contest is shaping as a very different one to that of seasons past.

Belinda Wilson-s Brisbane Roar are starting to hit their straps after a stunning 3-0 opening-day defeat against Canberra United in their only home game thus far. Since then they have claimed three impressive wins including reversing that loss against Canberra last weekend in a high-intensity contest to keep their hold on top spot. In midfield dynamo Katrina Gorry, the Roar boast one of the form players of the competition, while this week they welcome back fellow Westfield Matildas star Tameka Butt and, most likely, Germany goalkeeper Nadine Angerer.

Adelaide are shaping up as a very different proposition under new coach and former Hyundai A-League stalwart; Ross Aloisi. The Lady Reds boast a new-found steel and belief, one very much forged in mould of their coach. Gone are the hefty losses of seasons past, with Adelaide earning four points from their opening four matches, and just two narrow losses. The trip to Brisbane, as it is for any side, is however the ultimate test.

Brisbane Roar squad: 1. Nadine ANGERER (gk), 2. Laura ALLEWAY, 3. Amy CHAPMAN, 4. Clare POLKINGHORNE, 5. Brooke SPENCE, 6. Joanne BURGESS, 7. Kim CARROLL, 8. Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT, 9. Larissa CRUMMER, 10. Katrina GORRY, 11. Vedrana POPOVIC, 12. Erika ELZE, 13. Tameka BUTT, 14. Natasha WHEELER, 16. Hayley RASO, 19. Ayesha NORRIE, 20. Kate STEWART (gk) (two to be omitted)

Ins: Erika ELZE (promoted), Tameka BUTT (returns from injury)

Outs: None

Unavailable: Emily GIELNIK (quad - one week)

Adelaide United squad: 1. Melissa BARBIERI (gk), 3. Alexandra GUMMER, 4. Tegan RIDING, 5. Jessie WHAREPOURI, 6. Laura STOCKDALE, 7. Rachael QUIGLEY, 9. Lisa-Marie WOODS, 12. Daila TAIS-BORG, 14. Jayah BROWN, 15. Jenna McCORMICK, 17. Tiarn POWELL, 19. Daniela DI BARTOLO, 20. Kelly BARLTROP (gk), 21. Snez VELJANOVSKA 23. Kristy MOORE (C)

Ins: Alexandra GUMMER, Tegan RIDING, Rachael QUIGLEY (all promoted)

Outs: 10. Monique IANNELLA, 11. Isabel HODGSON, 16. Jessica WATERHOUSE (all omitted)

Unavailable: 2. Bianca GRAY (knee - 12 months)

Join the conversation on Twitter using #wleague