W-League Preview: Adelaide United v Brisbane Roar

An intense and high quality contest is in offer at Adelaide’s sparkling new football centre on Saturday evening.

Adelaide United v Brisbane Roar Saturday 1 February 2014 Adelaide Shores Football Centre, Adelaide Local kick-off: 7.30pm

An intense and high quality contest is in offer at Adelaide-s sparkling new football centre on Saturday evening.

The last time this pair met Adelaide came away from the home of the two-time champions with a stunning 1-0 win, in what was one of the all-time upsets in the six-year history of the Westfield W-League.

It was their first win against Brisbane, and proved that Adelaide are here to stay as a force after years of underachievement.

Adelaide may have seen their finals hopes dissipate last weekend, but make no mistake this United side have built a fearsome reputation for work ethic and esprit des corps and the Roar-s star-studded roster will certainly be given a thorough work over.

Adelaide seemed set to hold the all-conquering Sydney FC to a draw last weekend only to suffer heartbreak by conceding with the last kick of the match. Had they not had a goal chalked off for a tight offside call, it could easily have been yet another prized scalp for the Lady Reds.

It was further evidence, if any were needed, of Adelaide-s toughness. The fact they have unchanged roster for the visit of the Roar gives local supporters even more cause for optimism.

The indications are that the Roar are finding their feet following some erratic form since the mid-season break. A narrow win over Perth Glory was followed up a record loss at the hands of Sydney FC.

However, the Roar showed signs of their old form in overcoming a strong charge from Western Sydney Wanderers last weekend.

The two goals they conceded from balls played into the penalty area will be a concern for coach Belinda Wilson with the Roar having conceded more than any of the other top-four sides.

Adelaide United squad: 1. Melissa BARBIERI (gk), 5. Jesse WHAREPOURI, 6. Laura STOCKDALE, 7. Rachael QUIGLEY, 8. Emily CONDON, 9. Lisa-Marie WOODS, 10. Monique IANNELLA, 12. Daila TAIS-BORG, 15. Jenna McCORMICK, 17. Tiarn POWELL, 18. Jessica NAGEL, 20. Kelly BARLTROP (gk), 21. Snez VELJANOVSKA 23. Kristy MOORE (c), Louise MASON

Ins: None

Outs: None

Unavailable: 2. Bianca Gray (knee - season), Isabel Hodgson (injury - season)

Brisbane Roar squad: 1. Nadine ANGERER (gk), 2. Laura ALLEWAY, 4. Clare POLKINGHORNE (c), 5. Brooke SPENCE, 6. Joanne BURGESS, 7. Kim CARROLL, 8. Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT, 9. Larissa CRUMMER, 10. Katrina GORRY, 11. Vedrana POPOVIC, 13. Tameka BUTT, 14. Natasha WHEELER, 16. Hayley RASO, 17. Emily GIELNIK, 19. Ayesha NORRIE, 20. Kate STEWART (gk) (one to be omitted)

Ins: Ayesha Norrie (promoted)

Outs: None

Unavailable: Amy Chapman (knee - season)

Join the conversation on Twitter using #wleague