Brisbane Roar to farewell championship-winning keeper

After eight hugely-successful seasons with the club, goalkeeper Michael Theo has announced he will leave Brisbane Roar at the end of the Hyundai A-League 2017/18 Season.

Theo, who is the most successful player in Hyundai A-League history with five Championship wins, will be farewelled to the Roar fans at the club's final home match against Central Coast Mariners on Saturday.

The gloveman has made 159 appearances for Roar in the Hyundai A-League, helping the club win the title in 2011, 2012 and 2014.

There will be a special presentation made to the three-time Hyundai A-League Goalkeeper of the Year on the turf at Suncorp Stadium before Saturday's match.

"It's been an amazing eight years for myself. We've had great success and it has been an honour to play in front of the Brisbane Roar fans," Theo said.

"Those grand finals, and the moments we shared with the fans, are something I will never forget.

"I'd like to thank [Goalkeeping Coach] Jason Kearton and all the coaches that I have had in my time at Brisbane Roar, my family, my wife Victoria and all the players I have played alongside."

Thank you Theo

With two titles at Melbourne Victory also to his name, our number one is the only player in Hyundai A-League history to have won five Championships.

"Michael Theo is without question the most decorated and successful goalkeeper since the inception of the Hyundai A-League. His contributions, both on and off-field, make Michael one of the greatest sportsman in the history of Australian football," Roar's Managing Director David Pourre said.

"He has built a legacy that will forever be remembered in the hearts and minds of all Brisbane Roar FC supporters having played a key role in all three Orange Sundays at Suncorp Stadium."