Sydney FC v Melbourne Victory: match preview

All eyes will be on Sydney FC attacker Kosta Barbarouses as he comes up against his former side Melbourne Victory in Sunday's Big Blue in Kogarah.

Barbarouses swapped Navy Blue for Sky Blue in the off-season in a move that didn't go down well with Victory fans.

But after scoring his first Sydney FC goal in their win over Newcastle Jets a fortnight ago, the Kiwi international will be hoping to add to his tally at the expense of his ex-employers.

Victory head into the clash having managed just one win from the opening five matches, including a 1-1 draw against Wellington Phoenix last weekend.

It's also Victory's first return to Netstrata Jubilee Stadium since their embarrassing 6-1 Semi Final defeat at the hands of the Sky Blues in May.

Click here to buy tickets

Sunday, November 17 2019
Kick-off: 6.30pm AEDT
Venue: Netstrata Jubilee Stadium
Broadcast: FOX Sports 505
Stream: MyFootball Live App, Kayo Sports

Watch Hyundai A-League Live and Free on ABC and iView

Ways to watch

Download the MyFootball Live App now
Sign up for Kayo Sports
Get Foxtel

How to follow the action

Match centre: Live updates, videos and statistics

Follow @ALeague on Twitter and join the conversation using #BigBlue #ALeague 


Team news

Sydney FC squad: 1.Andrew REDMAYNE (gk), 2.Patrick FLOTTMANN, 4.Alex WILKINSON (c), 5.Alex BAUMJOHANN, 6.Ryan McGOWAN, 7.Michael ZULLO, 8.Paulo RETRE, 9.Adam LE FONDRE, 10.Milos NINKOVIC, 11.Kosta BARBAROUSES, 12.Trent BUHAGIAR, 13.Brandon O’NEILL, 16.Joel KING, 17.Anthony CACERES, 18.Luke IVANOVIC, 20.Tom HEWARD-BELLE (gk), 23.Rhyan GRANT, 24.Marco TILIO, 25.Ryan TEAGUE, 26.Luke BRATTAN **2-4 to be omitted**

In: 7.Michael ZULLO (return from injury), 24.Marco TILIO (return from international duty), 25.Ryan TEAGUE (return from international duty)
Out: 21.Harry VAN DER SAAG (international duty)
Unavailable: 3.Ben WARLAND (ACL - indefinite), 19. Chris ZUVELA (knee)

Melbourne Victory squad: 3.Corey BROWN, 4.James DONACHIE, 6.Leigh BROXHAM, 8.Jakob POULSEN, 10.Robbie KRUSE, 11.Ola TOIVONEN (c), 13.Birkan KIRDAR, 16.Josh HOPE, 18.Migjen BASHA, 19.Ben CARRIGAN, 20.Lawrence THOMAS (gk), 21.Adama TRAORE, 22.Kristijan DOBRAS, 24.Anthony LESIOTIS, 25.Brandon LAUTON, 26.Jay BARNETT, 30.Matthew SUTTON (gk), 50.Brendan WHITE (gk) ***2-4 to be omitted**

Ins: 10.Robbie KRUSE (returning from injury), 13.Birkan KIRDAR (returning from international duty), 26.Jay BARNETT (returning from international duty), 30.Matthew SUTTON (gk) (promoted)
Outs: 2.Storm ROUX (international duty), 7.Kenny ATHIU (international duty), 14.Thomas DENG (international duty), 17.Elvis KAMSOBA (international duty)
Unavailable: 1.Matt ACTON (shoulder), 5.Tim HOOGLAND (quad), 9.Andrew NABBOUT (hamstring)

Ola Toivonen
Victory skipper Ola Toivonen has been directly involved in seven of his side's last eight goals in the Hyundai A-League

Where heroes are made

Did you know?

  • Sydney FC have won six of their last eight Hyundai A-League matches at home to Melbourne Victory (L2), despite leading at halftime only twice in that span.
  • Only Western Sydney Wanderers (118) have won more aerial duels than Melbourne Victory (98) in the Hyundai A-League 2019/20 Season.
  • Sydney FC have had the most ‘big’ chances (15) of any team this season, though they have converted just four.

Round 6: Sydney FC v Melbourne Victory

Pick a winner
Sydney FC
Sydney FC
Melbourne Victory
Melbourne Victory

Round 6: Sydney FC v Melbourne Victory

Mini Matches