Sydney FC v Brisbane Roar: match preview

League-leaders Sydney FC will be eyeing off a little bit of revenge when Brisbane Roar visit Netstrata Jubilee Stadium on Saturday night.

Roar got the better of the Sky Blues in the FFA Cup Round of 32 earlier this year in Robbie Fowler’s first competitive game at the helm.

But in the Hyundai A-League it’s been Sydney FC that have dominated this fixture, winning four of the last six clashes between the two clubs.

Both sides should have plenty of confidence after wins last weekend – the Sky Blues overcoming Western United FC 2-0, while Roar beat the Central Coast Mariners by the same score.

And expect the first goal to be key to deciding this one. Sydney FC have scored the opening goal of the game on five occasions this Hyundai A-League season and have gone on to win all five of those fixtures.

In contrast, Roar remain the only team in the competition yet to score a goal in the first half in 2019/20.

Click here to buy tickets

Saturday, December 7 2019
Kick-off: 7.30pm AEDT
Venue: Netstrata Jubilee Stadium
Broadcast: FOX Sports 505
Stream: MyFootball Live App, Kayo Sports

HOW TO WATCH: Every Hyundai A-League game in Round 9
WATCH: All the Mini Matches from Round 8

Watch Hyundai A-League Live and Free on ABC and iView

Ways to watch

Download the MyFootball Live App now
Sign up for Kayo Sports
Get Foxtel

How to follow the action

Match centre: Live updates, videos and statistics

Follow @ALeague on Twitter and join the conversation using #SYDvBRI #ALeague 


Team news

Sydney FC squad: 1.Andrew REDMAYNE (gk), 2.Patrick FLOTTMANN, 4.Alex WILKINSON (c), 5.Alex BAUMJOHANN, 6.Ryan McGOWAN, 7.Michael ZULLO, 8.Paulo RETRE, 9.Adam LE FONDRE, 10.Milos NINKOVIC, 11.Kosta BARBAROUSES, 12.Trent BUHAGIAR, 13.Brandon O’NEILL, 16.Joel KING, 17.Anthony CACERES, 18.Luke IVANOVIC, 20.Tom HEWARD-BELLE (gk), 21.Harry VAN DER SAAG, 23.Rhyan GRANT, 24.Marco TILIO, 26.Luke BRATTAN.

**2-4 to be omitted**

Ins: 21.Harry VAN DER SAAG (promoted), 24.Marco TILIO (promoted)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: 3.Ben WARLAND (ACL - indefinite), 19. Chris ZUVELA (knee)

Brisbane Roar FC squad: 1.Max CROCOMBE (gk), 2.Scott NEVILLE, 4.Daniel BOWLES, 5.Tom ALDRED (c), 6.Macaulay GILLESPHEY, 7.Jai INGHAM, 8.Jacob PEPPER, 9.Roy O’DONOVAN, 10.Bradden INMAN, 12.Aiden O’NEILL, 13.Stefan MAUK, 14.George MELLS, 20.Aaron AMADI-HOLLOWAY, 21.Jamie YOUNG (gk), 22.Jake McGING, 23.Dylan WENZEL-HALLS, 25.Rahmat AKBARI, 26.Jay O’SHEA, 28.Izaack POWELL, 29.Jordan COURTNEY-PERKINS

**2-4 to be omitted**

Ins: 14.George MELLS (promoted), 22.Jake MCGING (promoted)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: Nil

Where heroes are made

Did you know?

  • There have been an average of four goals per game scored in Hyundai A-League fixtures when Sydney FC have hosted Brisbane Roar since the beginning of the 2014/15 Season
  • Brisbane Roar have won only one of their last 19 Hyundai A-League games away from home (D5, L13); a 5-3 win over the Central Coast Mariners in February this year their only success in that span.
  • Roar are yet to score a first-half goal this A-League season; however, no team has scored more second half goals than Robbie Fowler’s side (8) this term.

Round 9: Sydney v Roar

Pick a winner
Sydney FC
Sydney FC
Brisbane Roar FC
Brisbane Roar FC

Round 9: Sydney v Roar