Sydney FC inducts greats into Hall Of Fame

Sydney FC has inducted eight of the greatest names in the club’s history into its inaugural Hall of Fame at the Sky Blues’ 10 Year Anniversary lunch today.

Stars Steve Corica, Dwight Yorke, Mark Rudan, Clint Bolton, Terry McFlynn and Alessandro Del Piero alongside former coaches Pierre Littbarksi and Vitezslav Lavicka were announced as the initial Hall of Fame members as Allianz Stadium hosted the first ever banquet along the stadium’s playing surface.

WRAP: Sky Blues down Roar in nine-goal thriller

“This is a club with a fantastic history which has played host to some of Australian football’s biggest and best,” said Sydney FC Chairman Scott Barlow.

“These first eight inductees to our Hall Of Fame will be enshrined in our history for their outstanding contribution to the club.

“We look forward to welcoming further inductees in future years.”

Sky Blues assistant coach Steve Corica was announced as Sydney FC’s number one Hall of Fame member.

“It was amazing, unexpected and a big surprise to be inaugurated as the first player in the Sydney FC Hall Of Fame,” said two time Sky Blues Championship winner Steve Corica.

“To see my name alongside some of the legends of Sydney FC is a huge honour and a privilege and it will make me incredibly proud each time another name is added to the list in the years come.”

Sydney FC’s 2005/06 Championship winning captain Mark Rudan said: “I’m extremely honoured and proud to be considered as an inaugural member of the Hall of Fame.

“Sydney FC mean a lot to me and I had a superb three years with the club which were very special and I cherished. 

“To be inaugurated is a very proud moment and I take my hat off to the club for starting a Hall of Fame,” he continued.

“I think it’s a great initiative for Sydney FC to recognise some of the players and coaches who have made it the best club in the country.”