Stars rewarded for stellar campaigns

A host of Hyundai A-League stars were honoured last night as three clubs held their annual player awards nights.

Adelaide United, Central Coast Mariners and Melbourne Victory hosted glitzy award ceremonies to celebrate the achievements of the players throughout the 2014/15 campaign.

Reds attacker Sergio Cirio was rewarded for an impressive campaign by being named the club’s player of the season in just his second year with the club.

The 30-year-old Spaniard started every game across the Hyundai A-League and Westfield FFA Cup, the only Reds player to do so.

Sergio Cirio has been involved in more goals than any other Adelaide player.

"Firstly, it’s an honour to win this award for such a great club,” Cirio said.

"I want to say thank you to every one of my teammates, because I couldn’t have done it without you.”

Fahid Ben Khalfallah capped off an incredible debut season in the Hyundai A-League by being awarded Melbourne Victory’s highest individual honour, the Victory Medal.

The French-born Tunisian polled 43 votes to win the award by five votes from Matthieu Delpierre, with Besart Berisha in third place, one vote further back.

Melbourne Victory's Fahid Ben Khalfallah on the ball against the Wanderers.

Meanwhile, Mariners young-gun Anthony Caceres was named the Gosford-based club’s player of the season after a breakout year in the competition.

The 22-year-old featured in 26 of the Mariners’ 27 matches throughout 2014/15. 

Mariners players celebrate Anthony Caceres' opener against Adelaide.