Stars depart as Sky Blues build for 2015/16

Sydney FC have announced their player departures for the 2015/16 Hyundai A-League season, with injured duo Sasa Ognenovski and Nick Carle high profile casualties.

Corey Gameiro, Robert Stambolziev, Peter Triantis and Hagi Gligor were also not retained by the club for next season. 

Striker Shane Smeltz and defender Matthew Jurman have both recently signed new two year contracts, while Senegalese internationals Mickael Tavares and Jacques Faty have also extended their deals with the club.

GALLERY: Chelsea rocks Sydney

The list also includes the additions of 21 year old new signings Andrew Hoole and Brandon O’Neill.

Hoole on the ball against Tottenham Hotspur.

“I’m delighted we have been able to keep the vast majority of this season’s Grand Final squad together and with a few more additions I think we are building towards a very exciting and successful 2015/16 Hyundai A-League season,” said Head Coach Graham Arnold.

“We’ve seen from our performances against Chelsea and Tottenham that we have some very good players at the club and some highly talented youngsters which is hugely promising for next season.

“We also still have a number of spots available, including one for an international marquee, which bodes well for the future.  With an Asian Champions League campaign ahead of us we are going to need to recruit well but I believe we have a fantastic foundation for the year ahead.

“I’d like to thank those players who are leaving us for their service to the club and hope they continue to be successful in their careers.” 

Sydney FC squad for 2015/16

2. Sebastian Ryall

5. Matthew Jurman

6. Nikola Petkovic

9. Shane Smeltz

13. Christopher Naumoff

14. Alex Brosque

16. Alex Gersbach

17. Terry Antonis

20. Vedran Janjetovic

22. Ali Abbas

23. Rhyan Grant

25. Aaron Calver

26. Jacques Faty

27. Mickael Tavares

29. George Blackwood

30. Anthony Bouzanis

35. Andrew Hoole

38. Brandon O’Neill