Spurs name squad for Sky Blues clash

Superstars Harry Kane, Christian Eriksen, Hugo Lloris, Erik Lamela and Andros Townsend have all been named in a full-strength Tottenham squad for Saturday night’s friendly against Sydney FC.

Spurs announced their 22-man squad on Monday night, with only injured trio Younes Kaboul, Vlad Chiriches and Paulinho, and striker Emmanuel Adebayor (family reasons) unavailable.

Kane is the biggest drawcard though after scoring more than 30 goals for the club this season in all competitions.

It was feared the prolific striker might miss the trip after he was named in England’s under-21 squad for the European Championships in the Czech Republic, which starts on June 17.

Reds to play Man City in Oz friendly

But the England international will make the trip this week for games against a Malaysia XI in Kuala Lumpur followed by the clash with Sydney FC on Saturday night.

Mauricio Pochettino and Harry Kane

It’s a huge bonus for what will be a full-house at ANZ Stadium to see the EPL’s newest star take on Graham Arnold’s Sky Blues.

“The A-League is an up-and-coming league and they’re [Sydney FC] going to give us a real test,” Kane told Yahoo7.

“There’s a few players I know who’ve played in both the Premier League and the A-League.

“You’ve got the likes of Robbie Fowler, Emile Heskey, Harry Kewell, Dwight Yorke - who are all top players.”

After a long EPL season in which the club finished in fifth position, Lloris said the trip Down Under won’t be just about the football.

“Going to Sydney is a good opportunity for us and we will enjoy our time over there and relax and be open to our fans,” the French international gloveman said.

Hugo Lloris

“I’m looking forward to seeing the Sydney Harbour Bridge and of course the Sydney Opera House.

“There’s a lot to do and it’s a good opportunity for us to spend time together as a squad outside of the training ground, it’s a different mindset and we are looking forward to it.”
Tottenham squad:

Hugo Lloris, Luke McGee, Michel Vorm, Eric Dier, Federico Fazio, Danny Rose, Jan Vertonghen, Kyle Walker-Peters, DeAndre Yedlin, Nabil Bentaleb, Tom Carroll, Nacer Chadli, Christian Eriksen, Erik Lamela, Ryan Mason, Josh Onomah, Benji Stambouli, Andros Townsend, Grant Ward, Harry Winks, Harry Kane, Roberto Soldado