Remember when: shootout drama as Sydney FC win first Big Blue Grand Final

Melbourne Victory and Sydney FC share one of the Hyundai A-League's most intense rivalries and it's rarely been more dramatic than in the 2010 Grand Final.

Having never before met on the competition's biggest stage, the two clubs produced a Big Blue for the ages as the Championship was decided on penalties for the first time.

The action exploded in the second half as Roddy Vargas was ruled offside in appearing to bundle Victory ahead, and their aggravation was intensified when the Sky Blues swept up the other end to score through Mark Bridge.

Adrian Leijer came to the rescue with an 81st-minute equaliser and, after an intense 30 minutes of extra-time, it was sent to penalties.

Incredibly, the usually metronomic Kevin Muscat struck the post to hand the Sky Blues an early advantage.

A young Mitch Langerak gave Victory hope by then saving Shannon Cole's penalty, only for Clint Bolton to keep out Marvin Angulo's attempt.

That left fan favourite Byun Sung-hwan to nail the winner and give Sydney FC a memorable second Grand Final triumph.


Sydney FC 2010 Grand Final