Remember when: Mariners break Grand Final curse

Beaten in their three previous Grand Final appearances, Central Coast Mariners entered the 2012/13 decider wary of again being a footnote to another team's treasured success.

Western Sydney Wanderers had been the fairytale story throughout their debut Hyundai A-League campaign, claiming the Premiers' Plate by three points and going 13 games unbeaten on the way to the big stage.

This, however, was to be the Mariners' time as they avenged their trio of defeats to prevail 2-0 and win the championship for the first time.

Graham Arnold's men only had to wait until the 44th minute to make the breakthrough, veteran defender Patrick Zwaanswijk heading in Michael McGlinchey's corner.

And they were well and truly on their way in the 68th minute, Daniel McBreen sending Ante Covic the wrong way from the spot after Jerome Polenz handballed inside his own area.

Unlike their heartbreak against Brisbane Roar two years prior, the Mariners held firm through a Mat Ryan clean sheet to see out the long-awaited triumph.


Central Coast Mariners