Match preview: Wellington Phoenix v Brisbane Roar

Following their 4-2 loss to Melbourne Victory, Brisbane Roar face a tough away trip to New Zealand in a crucial Hyundai A-League clash against Wellington Phoenix on Saturday. 

John Aloisi’s side held their own for the first twenty minutes against Victory, before Éric Bauthéac’s dismissal swung the match well into the visitors’ favour. 

The loss was Brisbane’s third in a row, and sees them sitting second-last on the ladder.

WATCH FOR FREE: How to watch the Hyundai A-League LIVE and FREE
LIVE BLOG: Latest Hyundai A-League news

Meanwhile, Wellington enters this clash in sixth spot, and searching for their third win in a row after beating Central Coast Mariners 2-0 and Sydney FC 3-1 over the last fortnight.

The Phoenix put on an attacking masterclass in the first half against Sydney FC, before backing it up with a comprehensive victory against Mariners on home soil. 

Mark Rudan is building a side resolute in defence and pacy up front, as seen in the combinations on show from Roy Krishna, Nathan Burns and Sarpreet Singh. 

Add to that the marauding pace of Liberato Cacace and Mandi's grit in the spine alongside Alex Rufer and the Phoenix are looking good to end their long finals drought.

An important clash awaits us at Westpac Stadium as Brisbane Roar seeks to not lose pace from the pack, while Wellington will aim to consolidate their spot in the top six heading into Christmas.

Key Opta Stats

  • Each of the last four games between Wellington Phoenix and Brisbane Roar has ended in a draw, including two goalless draws in that time.
  • Brisbane Roar have conceded exactly two goals in each of their last six games away from home, managing to earn just one victory in that time (D1, L4).
  • Wellington Phoenix have conceded 131 fouls this campaign, more than any other team in the Hyundai A-League and 11 more than Brisbane Roar.

Ins and Outs

Wellington Phoenix squad: 1.Filip KURTO, 4.Mandi SOSA, 5.Ryan LOWRY, 6.Dylan FOX, 8.Mitch NICHOLS, 9.Nathan BURNS, 11.David WILLIAMS, 13.Liberato CACACE, 14.Alex RUFER, 15.Michal KOPZCYNSKI, 16.Louis FENTON, 18.Sarpreet SINGH, 19.Tom DOYLE, 20.Oliver SAIL (gk), 21.Roy KRISHNA, 22.Andrew DURANTE (c), 23.Max BURGESS,  27.Steven TAYLOR  ** two be omitted**

 Ins: 6. Dylan FOX (promoted), 8. Mitch NICHOLS (promoted)
Outs: Nil
Unavailable: Nil

Brisbane Roar FC squad: 1.Brendan WHITE (gk), 2.Dane INGHAM, 4.Daniel BOWLES, 6.Avram PAPADOPOULOS, 7.Thomas KRISTENSEN, 8.Jacob PEPPER, 9.Adam TAGGART, 13.Stefan MAUK, 14.Alex LOPEZ, 17.Matt MCKAY (c), 18.Joe CALETTI, 19.Jack HINGERT, 20.Shannon BRADY, 21.Jamie YOUNG (gk), 22.Tobias MIKKELSEN, 24.Connor O’TOOLE, 26.Nick D’AGOSTINO, 33.HENRIQUE **two to be omitted**

 Ins: 18.Joe CALETTI (promoted), 19.Jack HINGERT (promoted), 20.Shannon BRADY (promoted), 22.Tobias MIKKELSEN (promoted)
Outs: 11.Eric BAUTHEAC (suspension – 1 match), 23.Dylan WENZEL-HALLS (not selected)
Unavailable: 10.Brett HOLMAN (knee)

Jack Hingert; Ryan Kitto

How to watch

Do not miss any of the action on FOX SPORTS 505 from 5:35pm AEDT.


Grab your seat HERE as Rudan’s revolution continues in Wellington.


Round 9: Wellington Phoenix v Brisbane Roar

Tip the result
Wellington Phoenix
Wellington Phoenix
Brisbane Roar FC
Brisbane Roar FC

Thanks for your tip!