Premiers Sydney FC dominate PFA Team of the Season

They may have missed out on a berth in Saturday night’s Grand Final but Sydney FC’s regular season dominance has been rewarded with six players named in the starting 11 for the Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) Hyundai A-League Team of the Season.

The team is voted on by the PFA’s Hyundai A-League based members.

Three of the back four are from the Sky Blues - Luke Wilkshire, Alex Wilkinson and Michael Zullo – while midfielder Josh Brillante and attackers Bobo and Johnny Warren medallist Adrian Mierzejewski also made the XI.

Graham Arnold was named as coach of the 18-man squad, which includes two players from the Newcastle Jets and three from Melbourne Victory, who will contest Saturday night’s decider at McDonald Jones Stadium.

“It is a huge honour to be voted by my peers into the Team of the Season and something I am very proud of,” Jets playmaker Dimitri Petratos said.

“The respect of your fellow footballers means a lot and this team is so special to all players.”

The PFA Team of the Year:

GOALKEEPER: Jamie Young (Brisbane Roar)

DEFENDERS: Luke Wilkshire (Sydney FC), Alex Wilkinson (Sydney FC), Rhys Williams (Melbourne Victory), Michael Zullo (Sydney FC)

MIDFIELDERS: Josh Brillante (Sydney FC), Luke Brattan (Melbourne City), Dimitri Petratos (Newcastle Jets)

FORWARDS: Adrian Mierzejewski (Sydney FC), Bobo (Sydney FC), Leroy George (Melbourne Victory)

SUBSTITUTES: Andrew Redmayne (Sydney FC), Bart Schenkeveld (Melbourne City), Isaias Sanchez (Adelaide United), Milos Ninkovic (Sydney FC), Andrew Nabbout (Newcastle Jets), Thomas Deng (Melbourne Victory), Daniel Arzani (Melbourne City)

COACH: Graham Arnold (Sydney FC)

Dimitri Petratos
Dimitri Petratos (Jets)