Pre-Season Cup Final Preview

All the information you need to know for the 2008 Pre-Season Cup final

Wellington Phoenix v Melbourne Victory Wednesday 6 August 2008 Kick-Off 7:30pm NZST (5:30pm AEST, 5:00pm ACST, 3.30pm AWST) Westpac Stadium, Wellington Referee: Peter O-Leary Assistant Referees: Brent Best & Glen Lochrie Fourth Official: Mark Rule

TV: Live - Fox Sports 3 @ 5.30pm AEST; Live - Sky Sports 3 @ 7.30pm NZST

Wellington Phoenix Squad: 1. Mark PASTON (gk), 2. Jeremy CHRISTIE, 4. Jon McKAIN (captain), 5. Karl DODD, 7. Leo BERTOS, 8, Vaughan COVENY, 9. Shane SMELTZ, 10. Michael FERRANTE, 11. DANIEL, 12. Richard JOHNSON, 13. Troy HEARFIELD, 18. Ben SIGMUND, 20. Glen MOSS (gk), 21. Leilei GAO, 25. Manny MUSCAT, 27. Adam KWASNIK one to be omitted

In: Jon McKain (return from injury), Karl Dodd (return from suspension) Out: Andrew Durante (suspended)

Others Unavailable: Tony Lochhead (overseas trial - 1 week), Vince Lia (knee - season)

Melbourne Victory Squad: 1.Michael THEOKLITOS (gk), 3.Michael THWAITE, 4.Steven PACE, 5.Sebastian RYALL, 7.Matthew KEMP, 9.Danny ALLSOPP, 11.NEY FABIANO, 12.Rodrigo VARGAS (Captain), 13.Nathan ELASI, 15.Tom PONDELJAK, 16.Carlos HERNANDEZ, 17.Jose Luis LOPEZ, 19.Evan BERGER, 20.Mitchell LANGERAK (gk), 22.Nick WARD

In: Out: Nil

Others Unavailable: Kevin Muscat (hamstring - 1 week), Grant Brebner (groin - indefinite), Archie Thompson (Olympic duty), Billy Celeski (Olympic duty), Leigh Broxham (Olympic duty), Daniel Vasilevski (hip - 3 weeks).

HEAD-TO-HEAD RECORD in all official competitions Played 4: Wellington Phoenix wins 1, Melbourne Victory wins 1 (2 draws)

Previous confrontations: 04-08-07 Wellington Phoenix 2 - 1 Melbourne Victory (Olympic Park) 2007 Pre-Season Cup 26-08-07 Wellington Phoenix 2 - 2 Melbourne Victory (Westpac Stadium) Hyundai A-League 2007/08 24-11-07 Wellington Phoenix 1 - 1 Melbourne Victory (Telstra Dome) Hyundai A-League 2007/08 11-01-08 Wellington Phoenix 0 - 3 Melbourne Victory (Telstra Dome) Hyundai A-League 2007/08

PREVIOUS PRE-SEASON CUP FINALS

2006 PRE-SEASON CUP FINAL Adelaide United 1 - 5pen (Carl Veart 7') defeated Central Coast Mariners 1 - 4 pen (Andre Gumprecht 77') AET @ Bluetongue Stadium. Referee: Simon Pryzdacz. Crowd: 10463.

2007 PRE-SEASON CUP FINAL Adelaide United 2 (Bruce Djite 66', Cassio 83') defeated Perth Glory 1 (Leo Bertos 45') @ Hindmarsh Stadium. Referee: Ben Williams. Crowd: 9606.