Perth Glory v Sydney FC: match preview

It’s a triple-header Saturday in Round 7 and we’ve saved the best for last with a Grand Final rematch between Perth Glory and Sydney FC.

HBF Park is the venue as last season’s premiers host the defending champions in a clash that promises plenty of fireworks.

Glory have had a mixed start to 2019/20, with just the one defeat and one victory from their opening five games, and three draws.

It has Tony Popovic’s side sitting in sixth spot and seven points away from the summit.

In contrast, Sydney FC have been in imperious form, moving into second spot after last weekend’s come-from-behind 2-1 win over Melbourne Victory.

The Sky Blues, who won three of their four meetings (including the Grand Final) against Glory last season won’t fear the trip west with a fantastic record in WA.

Click here to buy tickets

Perth Glory v Sydney FC
Saturday, November 23 2019
Venue: HBF Park
Kick-off: 6.45pm local, 9.45pm AEDT
Broadcast: FOX Sports 505
Stream: MyFootball Live App, Kayo Sports

HOW TO WATCH: Every match in Round 7 of the Hyundai A-League

Watch Hyundai A-League Live and Free on ABC and iView

Ways to watch

Download the MyFootball Live App now
Sign up for Kayo Sports
Get Foxtel

How to follow the action

Match centre: Live updates, videos and statistics

Follow @ALeague on Twitter and join the conversation using #PERv#SYD #ALeague 


Team news

Perth Glory squad: 1.Tando VELAPHI (gk), 3.Jacob TRATT, 4.Gregory WUTHRICH, 5.Ivan FRANJIC, 6.Dino DJULBIC, 7.Joel CHIANESE, 8.James MEREDITH, 9.Bruno FORNAROLI, 12.Kim SOO-BEOM, 14.Chris HAROLD, 16.Tomislav MRCELA, 17.Diego CASTRO (c), 18.Nick D’AGOSTINO, 19.Chris IKONOMIDIS, 20.Jake BRIMMER, 27.JUANDE, 28.Gabriel POPOVIC, 29.Kristian POPOVIC, 33.Liam REDDY (gk), 88.Neil KILKENNY **2-4 to be omitted**

Ins: 3.Jacob TRATT (promoted), 16.Tomislav MRCELA (returns from injury), 18.Nick D’AGOSTINO (returns from injury), 29.Kristian POPOVIC (returns from international duty) 
Outs: 2.Alex GRANT (suspended – 1 week)
Unavailable: 13.Osama MALIK (hamstring – 1 week)

 Sydney FC squad: 1.Andrew REDMAYNE (gk), 2.Patrick FLOTTMANN, 4.Alex WILKINSON (c), 5.Alex BAUMJOHANN, 6.Ryan McGOWAN, 7.Michael ZULLO, 8.Paulo RETRE, 9.Adam LE FONDRE, 10.Milos NINKOVIC, 11.Kosta BARBAROUSES, 12.Trent BUHAGIAR, 13.Brandon O’NEILL, 16.Joel KING, 17.Anthony CACERES, 18.Luke IVANOVIC, 20.Tom HEWARD-BELLE (gk), 21.Harry VAN DER SAAG, 23.Rhyan GRANT, 24.Marco TILIO, 26.Luke BRATTAN. **2-4 to be omitted**

 In: 21.Harry VAN DER SAAG (return from international duty), 24.Marco TILIO (promoted)
Out: Nil
Unavailable: 3.Ben WARLAND (ACL - indefinite), 19. Chris ZUVELA (knee)

Where heroes are made

Did you know?

  • Sydney FC have won 11 of their last 12 Hyundai A-League games against Perth Glory, including last season’s Grand Final.
  • Glory are winless in their last three Hyundai A-League games on home soil. The last time they went longer without a win in WA was a five-game stretch in 2015 (D2, L3).
  • Glory striker Bruno Fornaroli has scored 49 goals in 75 Hyundai A-League appearances. No player has reached 50 goals in fewer than 79 games (Besart Berisha and Shane Smeltz).

Round 7: Perth Glory v Sydney FC

Pick a winner
Perth Glory
Perth Glory
Sydney FC
Sydney FC

Thanks for your vote