Perth Glory v Melbourne Victory: match preview

Perth Glory will continue their push for a top-four finish when they face a Melbourne Victory outfit bereft of confidence at Nestrata Jubilee Stadium on Saturday evening.

Tony Popovic's side can still finish as high as second on the Hyundai A-League table by the season's end and will be confident of their ability to do so after a rousing 3-1 win over Western Sydney Wanderers in their most recent fixture.

Victory meanwhile are tenth on the table, and with a sizeable gap between Central Coast Mariners below them and all nine sides above there's nothing but pride on the line for Grant Brebner's team heading into their clash with Perth.

If in need of inspiration, however, Victory can find it in the fact securing a point or more against the Glory will put an end to their five-game losing streak - the worst losing streak in the club's history.

The two sides have met twice so far this season: Victory's 1-0 win over Perth in Round 8 spurred Popovic's side into a ten-game unbeaten run - including a 2-2 draw with Victory in Round 17 - which turned their season around and hauled them into finals contention.

updated banner

Saturday, August 8 2020
Kick-off: 5.00pm AEST
Venue: Netstrata Jubilee Stadium
Broadcast: ABC TV, FOX Sports 507
Stream: MyFootball Live App, Kayo Sports

Ways to watch

Download the MyFootball Live App now
Sign up for Kayo Sports
Get Foxtel

How to follow the action

Match centre: Live updates, videos and statistics

Follow @ALeague on Twitter and join the conversation using #PERvMVC #ALeague

James Meredith
James Meredith and the Glory got their mojo back against the Wanderers

Team news

Perth Glory squad: 2.Alex GRANT, 3.Jacob TRATT, 5.Ivan FRANJIC, 7.Joel CHIANESE, 8.James MEREDITH, 9.Bruno FORNAROLI, 13.Osama MALIK, 16.Tomislav MRCELA, 18.Nick D'AGOSTINO, 20.Jake BRIMMER, 21.Tarek ELRICH, 22.Vince LIA, 23.Dane INGHAM, 25.Carlo ARMIENTO, 27.JUANDE, 28.Gabriel POPOVIC, 29.Kristian POPOVIC, 33.Liam REDDY (GK), 50.Daniel MARGUSH (GK), 88.Neil KILKENNY (C)

**2-4 to be omitted**

Ins: 3.Jacob TRATT (promoted), 7.Joel CHIANESE (promoted)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: Nil

Melbourne Victory squad: 1.Matt ACTON (gk), 2.Storm ROUX, 4.James DONACHIE, 6.Leigh BROXHAM (c), 7.Kenny ATHIU, 9.Andrew NABBOUT, 13.Birkan KIRDAR, 15.Giancarlo GALLIFUOCO, 16.Josh HOPE, 17.Elvis KAMSOBA, 18.Migjen BASHA, 21.Adama TRAORE, 23.Marco ROJAS, 25.Brandon LAUTON, 26.Jay BARNETT, 30.Matthew SUTTON (gk), 31.Aaron ANDERSON, 38.So NISHIKAWA, 39.Lleyton BROOKS, 43.Luis LAWRIE-LATTANZIO

**2-4 to be omitted**

In: 9.Andrew NABBOUT (return from injury), 39.Lleyton BROOKS (promoted)

Out: Nil

Unavailable: 5.Tim HOOGLAND (released), 8.Jakob POULSEN (released), 10.Robbie KRUSE (knee - season), 11.Ola TOIVONEN (released), 20.Lawrence Thomas (released), 24.Anthony LESIOTIS (injured – ankle)

Storm Roux has been one of Victory's best players since the competition resumption

Did you know?

  • Melbourne Victory are undefeated in their last three Hyundai A-League games against Perth Glory (W2, D1), keeping two clean sheets against them in that time.
  • Perth Glory are winless at Nestrata Jubilee Stadium in the Hyundai A-League (D1, L1) and will be looking to score their first goal at the venue against Victory.
  • Melbourne Victory have lost a club-record five consecutive Hyundai A-League games heading into this fixture, conceding an average of three goals per game across that stretch.
  • Bruno Fornaroli has created 14 scoring chances in his Hyundai A-League career against Victory, his second most against any team (17 v Wellington Phoenix).


Perth Glory v Melbourne Victory - pick a winner

Pick a winner
Perth Glory
Perth Glory
Melbourne Victory
Melbourne Victory

Thanks for your pick