Perth Glory v Melbourne Victory: match preview

They may have enjoyed continental success in midweek but Melbourne Victory face a major hurdle on the domestic front against Perth Glory on Saturday night.

A weary Victory will arrive at HBF Park boosted by booking their spot in the group stage of this year’s AFC Champions League – alongside Glory and Sydney FC – after their courageous win over Kashima Antlers in Japan on Tuesday night.

The battle with Glory will be their fourth game in 11 days, not ideal when you are desperate for points against the competitions hottest teams.

Victory have lost their last three matches in the Hyundai A-League and another defeat in this one will equal their worst run of form in the competition dating back to December 2015.

While knocking off Perth – who saw their six-game winning run halted by a goalless draw against Melbourne City in Round 16 – might seems tricky, they have enjoyed their recent trips west.

Victory have won two of their last three Hyundai A-League matches against Perth Glory at HBF Park (L1), as many as they won in their seven games prior against them at the venue.

Watch Live and Free

Click here to buy tickets

Saturday, 1 February 2020
Kick-off: 6.45pm local, 9.45pm AEDT
Venue: HBF Park
Broadcast: FOX Sports 505
Stream: MyFootball Live App, Kayo Sports

ROUND 17: How to watch Hyundai A-League Round 17
ROUND 16: Who made the Team of the Week?

Watch Live and Free

Ways to watch

Download the MyFootball Live App now
Sign up for Kayo Sports
Get Foxtel

How to follow the action

Match centre: Live updates, videos and statistics

Follow @ALeague on Twitter and join the conversation using #PERvMVC #ALeague 

How to Watch A-League

Team news

Perth Glory squad: 1.Tando VELAPHI (gk), 2.Alex GRANT, 3.Jacob TRATT, 4.Gregory WUTHRICH, 5.Ivan FRANJIC, 7.Joel CHIANESE, 8.James MEREDITH, 9.Bruno FORNAROLI, 12.Kim SOO-BEOM, 16.Tomislav MRCELA, 17.Diego CASTRO (c), 18.Nicholas D’AGOSTINO, 19.Chris IKONOMIDIS, 20.Jake BRIMMER, 21.Tarek ELRICH, 22.Vince LIA, 28.Gabriel POPOVIC, 29.Kristian POPOVIC, 33.Liam REDDY (gk), 88.Neil KILKENNY **2-4 to be omitted**

Ins: 19.Chris IKONOMIDIS (returns from injury), 18.Nicholas D’AGOSTINO (returns from international duty),  21.Tarek ELRICH (new signing)
Outs: 23.Dane INGHAM (omitted)
Unavailable: 6.Dino DJULBIC (ankle – indefinite), 13.Osama MALIK (hamstring – 1 week), 27.JUANDE (groin – 1 week)

Melbourne Victory squad: 2.Storm ROUX, 4.James DONACHIE, 5.Tim HOOGLAND, 7.Kenny ATHIU, 8.Jakob POULSEN, 9.Andrew NABBOUT, 10.Robbie KRUSE, 11.Ola TOIVONEN, 16.Josh HOPE, 17.Elvis KAMSOBA, 18.Migjen BASHA, 19.Ben CARRIGAN, 20.Lawrence THOMAS (gk), 21.Adama TRAORE, 23. Marco ROJAS, 24.Anthony LESIOTIS, 25.Brandon LAUTON, 26.Jay BARNETT, 50.Brendan WHITE (gk) **2-4 to be omitted**

Ins:  23. Marco ROJAS (promoted) 4.James DONACHIE (return from suspension), 5.Tim HOOGLAND (return from injury) 
Outs: 6.Leigh BROXHAM (suspended) 
Unavailable: 1.Matt ACTON (shoulder), 14.Thomas DENG (released)

Marco Rojas
Marco Rojas could make his first appearance since signing with Victory

Did you know?

  • Perth Glory are undefeated in their last seven Hyundai A-League matches (W6, D1), keeping a clean sheet in each of the last four games in that run – a fifth in succession in this match would be a new club record.
  • Melbourne Victory have won each of their last two Hyundai A-League matches against Perth Glory, the last and only time they’ve won more in succession against them was a three-match span across March 2017-January 2018.
  • Perth Glory have averaged the most headed clearances per game (13.4) of any side this Hyundai A-League season, almost four more than Melbourne Victory (9.5).
  • Victory have blocked the most opposition shots (75) of any side in the Hyundai A-League 2019/20 Season, seven more than the next best (Central Coast Mariners – 68).
  • No player has completed more dribbles in the Hyundai A-League this season than Glory’s Diego Castro (67) or Melbourne Victory’s Elvis Kamsoba (35).
  • Victory winger Robbie Kruse has scored five goals in his Hyundai A-League career against Perth Glory, his most against a single team.

Round 17: Glory v Victory

Pick a winner
Perth Glory
Perth Glory
Melbourne Victory
Melbourne Victory

Round 17: Glory v Victory

McDonalds Mini Matches