Perth Glory v Brisbane Roar: match preview

Perth Glory kick off their Premiership defence against Robbie Fowler's Brisbane Roar on Sunday evening.

Tony Popovic's side were a cut above the rest over the course of 27 rounds in 2018/19, but fell short at the final hurdle: a penalty shootout defeat to Sydney FC in the Grand Final.

Glory will be hungry to immediately put a stake in the ground, but so too is one of their former players: Premier League legend Fowler, who wore Perth purple and scored nine goals for the club between 2010-2011.

Now at the helm of Brisbane in his first role in full-time coaching, this match marks the beginning of a new chapter for the man known in Liverpool as 'God'. Can he make an immediate first impression?

Perth Glory season preview
Brisbane Roar season preview 

Buy tickets

Sunday 13, October 2019
Kick-off: 6.00 AEDT
Venue: HBF Park
Broadcast: FOX Sports 505
Stream: My Football App, Kayo Sports 

Follow @ALeague on Twitter and join the conversation using #PERvBRI

Download the MyFootball Live App now
Sign up for Kayo Sports
Get Foxtel


Team news

Perth Glory squad: 1.Tando VELAPHI (gk), 2.Alex GRANT, 3.Jacob TRATT, 4.Gregory WUTHRICH, 6.Dino DJULBIC, 7.Joel CHIANESE, 8.James MEREDITH, 9.Bruno FORNAROLI, 12.Kim SOO-BEOM 13.Osama MALIK, 14.Chris HAROLD, 15.Brandon WILSON, 16.Tomislav MRCELA, 17.Diego CASTRO (c), 19.Chris IKONOMIDIS, 20.Jake BRIMMER, 27.JUANDE, 29.Kristian POPOVIC, 33.Liam REDDY (gk), 88.Neil KILKENNY **2-4 to be omitted**

 Unavailable: 5.Ivan FRANJIC (suspended – 1 week)

Brisbane Roar squad: 1.Max CROCOMBE (gk), 2.Scott NEVILLE, 5.Tom ALDRED (c), 6.Macaulay GILLESPHEY, 7.Jai INGHAM, 8.Jacob PEPPER, 9.Roy O’DONOVAN, 10.Bradden INMAN, 12.Aiden O’NEILL, 13.Stefan MAUK, 15.Aaron REARDON, 20.Aaron AMADI-HOLLOWAY, 21.Jamie YOUNG (gk), 22.Jake MCGING, 23.Dylan WENZEL-HALLS, 24.Connor O’TOOLE, 25.Rahmat AKBARI, 26.Jay O’SHEA **2 to be omitted**

Unavailable: Nil

Did you know?

  • Brisbane Roar have picked up just one win from their last nine A-League games against Perth Glory at HBF Park (D3, L5), last winning at the venue in April 2018.
  • Perth Glory have won only three of their previous 14 Round 1 encounters in the A-League (D4, L7), and are winless in their last four (D2, L2).
  • There has been an average of five goals scored per game in Brisbane Roar’s last eight A-League games, with no side managing to keep a clean sheet in that span.
Brisbane Roar boss Robbie Fowler
Brisbane Roar boss Robbie Fowler

Round 1: Perth Glory v Brisbane Roar

Pick a winner
Perth Glory
Perth Glory
Brisbane Roar FC
Brisbane Roar FC

Pick a winner