Perth Glory v Adelaide United: match preview

Perth Glory are hunting a fifth consecutive Hyundai A-League win when they host Adelaide United on Saturday night (kick off 7.30pm AEDT).

The reigning Premiers have been moving through the gears in recent weeks, stringing together impressive wins over Melbourne City, Western Sydney Wanderers, Newcastle Jets and Central Coast Mariners.

Goals are starting to flow for Tony Popovic's side with Bruno Fornaroli and Diego Castro terrorising opposition defences, which will have an Adelaide side on red alert when they arrive in Western Australia.

Adelaide have slipped into sixth position courtesy of three straight defeats and could fall out of the top six altogether if the FFA Cup 2019 winners cannot find a way to pull themselves out of the rut against Perth.

Click here to buy tickets

Saturday, 11 January 2020
Kick-off: 4.30pm local, 7.30pm AEDT
Venue: HBF Park
Broadcast: FOX Sports 505
Stream: MyFootball Live App, Kayo Sports

HOW TO WATCH: All the action in Round 14
ROUND 13: Team of the Week

Watch Hyundai A-League Live and Free on ABC and iView

Ways to watch

Download the MyFootball Live App now
Sign up for Kayo Sports
Get Foxtel

How to follow the action

Match centre: Live updates, videos and statistics

Follow @ALeague on Twitter and join the conversation using #PERvADL #ALeague

Adelaide United

Team news

Perth Glory squad: 1.Tando VELAPHI (gk), 2.Alex GRANT, 3.Jacob TRATT, 4.Gregory WUTHRICH, 5.Ivan FRANJIC, 7.Joel CHIANESE, 8.James MEREDITH, 9.Bruno FORNAROLI, 12.Kim SOO-BEOM, 14.Chris HAROLD, 16.Tomislav MRCELA, 17.Diego CASTRO (c), 19.Chris IKONOMIDIS, 20.Jake BRIMMER, 27.JUANDE, 28.Gabriel POPOVIC, 29.Kristian POPOVIC, 33.Liam REDDY (gk), 88.Neil KILKENNY **2-3 to be omitted**

Ins: 14.Chris HAROLD (promoted), 29.Kristian POPOVIC (returns from injury)
Outs: Nil
Unavailable: 6.Dino DJULBIC (ankle – indefinite), 13.Osama MALIK (hamstring – 1 week), 18.Nicholas D’AGOSTINO (international duty)

Adelaide United squad: 2.Michael MARRONE, 4.Ryan STRAIN, 5.Michaël MARIA, 6.Vince LIA, 7.Ryan KITTO, 8.Riley McGREE, 11.Kristian OPSETH, 14.George BLACKWOOD, 16.Nathan KONSTANDOPOULOS, 17.Nikola MILEUSNIĆ, 18.Lachlan BROOK, 20.Paul IZZO (gk), 22.Michael JAKOBSEN (c), 23.Jordan ELSEY, 26.Ben HALLORAN, 27.Louis D’ARRIGO, 30.Isaac RICHARDS (gk), 40.Dakota OCHSENHAM (gk) **0-2 to be omitted**

Ins: 30.Isaac RICHARDS (promoted)
Outs: 10.James TROISI (hamstring)
Unavailable: 1.Daniel MARGUŠ (international duty), 24.Pacifique NIYONGABIRE (adductor), 29.Kusini YENGI (knee), 35.Al Hassan TOURE (international duty), 36.Noah SMITH (foot)

How to Watch A-League

Did you know?

  • Perth Glory are undefeated in their last four Hyundai A-League games against Adelaide United (W3, D1), keeping three clean sheets in that span.
  • Glory have won their last four Hyundai A-League games on the bounce – outscoring their opponents 14-2 in that period; a fifth consecutive win would equal their longest ever winning streak in the competition (5 games).
  • The Reds have lost four of their last six A-League games away from home (W2), including their last two on the bounce.
  • Perth have conceded just one goal within the opening 15 minutes of games this Hyundai A-League campaign; no team has conceded fewer in this time.
  • Reds playmaker Riley McGree has been directly involved in five of his side’s last eight Hyundai A-League goals away from home (4 goals, 1 assist).

Round 14: Perth v Adelaide

Pick a winner
Perth Glory
Perth Glory
Adelaide United
Adelaide United

Round 14: Perth v Adelaide