Perth Glory reveal squad shake-up

Perth Glory have announced five players from this season's squad are departing the club, opening up a couple of visa spots on their roster ahead of the 2016/17 Hyundai A-League campaign.

Glory said farewell to Hungarian duo Gyorgy Sandor and Krisztian Vadocz along with Diogo Ferreira and Hagi Gligor and paid tribute to Hyundai A-League veteran Ruben Zadkovich at their annual awards gala on Saturday night.

After a total of 151 domestic league matches spanning the past decade at Sydney FC, Newcastle Jets and Perth Glory, a career ending knee-injury has forced Zadkovich to retire from the beautiful game.

The former Socceroo, who turns 30 this month, has been assisting Glory Youth team coach John Gibson in the past season and is currently in discussions with the club about the prospect of a post-career opportunity.

“It’s been an agonising and frustrating 12 months and it’s a very serious injury which has ended my days as a footballer,” said Zadkovich.

"I'm extremely grateful to have played the game I love most. It has given me everything I dreamed of as a young kid. I've got no regrets.

"As this next chapter unfolds, I'll be focusing on developing my coaching skills, and give back to the game that served me so well.

"To the mates I've made in this game, the guys I went into battle with each week, I'd like to thank them for their comradeship over the years."

Midfield enforcer Sandor made 24 starts for Perth this season but has chosen not to extend his stay and will instead return to Europe for family reasons.

Perth Glory import Gyorgy Sandor celebrates a goal against Melbourne City in Round 26.

Compatriot, Vadocz, who was signed as a short-term injury replacement during the January transfer window, will also be pursuing other opportunities.

Meanwhile Ferreira and Gligor's contracts expire at the end of the month and the pair will not be staying with Glory next season.

The WA club also revealed negotiations to extend the contract of Spanish marquee Diego Castro are ongoing.

The Johnny Warren Medalist took out five of the top awards at Perth's Most Glorious Player awards ceremony on Saturday night.

Castro claims Perth Glory's top awards