Perth Glory claim their first Hyundai A-League Premiership

Perth Glory have claimed their first Hyundai A-League Premiership following their 1-0 victory over the Newcastle Jets this evening.

In front of 11,349 supporters at HBF Park, a second half strike from defender Ivan Franjic helped lift Tony Popovic’s side to a narrow victory over the Novocastrians.

Last night Sydney FC’s hopes of claiming the Hyundai A-League 2019 Premiership suffered a blow after they drew 1-1 with Western Sydney Wanderers FC in the Sydney Derby at ANZ Stadium.

And with Perth winning in the west this evening, the Glory can no longer be caught by the Sky Blues atop the Hyundai A-League 2018/19 standings.

Football Federation Australia (FFA) Chairman Chris Nikou congratulated Perth Glory on their achievement.

“Perth Glory are a proud club with a proud history and are definitely deserved Hyundai A-League Premiers following their outstanding season,” Nikou said.

“Glory won two Premierships in the National Soccer League era, however this is their first in the Hyundai A-League and I am sure everyone involved with their Club will be thrilled with the achievement.

Perth Glory

“We congratulate Perth Glory Head Coach Tony Popovic, his coaching staff, captain Diego Castro and all the players for their outstanding performances throughout the Hyundai A-League 2018/19 season.

“We also congratulate Perth Glory Owner and Club Chairman Tony Sage, someone who has invested significantly into the Glory over a long period of time, and recognise Chief Executive Officer Tony Pignata and the Perth Glory support staff for their efforts and contributions to help this team claim their first Hyundai A-League Premiership.

“I am sure that Perth Glory will be looking to add the Hyundai A-League Championship Trophy to their collection as we enter the Hyundai A-League 2019 Finals Series in a few weeks’ time,” he said.

The Hyundai A-League 2018/19 Premiers Plate was presented to Perth Glory at the conclusion of their round 25 win over Newcastle Jets.

Perth Glory will host their Hyundai A-League 2019 Semi Final on Friday 10 May at HBF Park against the lowest ranked winner from the Hyundai A-League 2019 Elimination Finals the previous week. Tickets for the match will go on sale to Perth Glory Platinum members from Monday, 29 April with the Football Family and General Public on-sale from Tuesday, 7 May (see for further details).

The Hyundai A-League 2019 Finals Series will be broadcast live on FOX SPORTS, 10 Bold, and the My Football Live App, Live, Fast and Data Free for Telstra mobile customers.


Hyundai A-League Premiers




Adelaide United


Melbourne Victory


Central Coast Mariners


Melbourne Victory


Sydney FC


Brisbane Roar FC


Central Coast Mariners


Western Sydney Wanderers FC


Brisbane Roar FC


Melbourne Victory


Adelaide United


Sydney FC


Sydney FC


Perth Glory