New-look Jets aiming to build with Cup success

Newcastle Jets Head Coach Scott Miller has confirmed his Westfield FFA Cup squad ahead of Tuesday’s Round of 32 clash against Perth Glory at Magic Park.

New signings Nigel Boogaard, Jason Hoffman, Labinot Haliti, Mateo Poljak, Cameron Watson, Lachlan Jackson and Themba Muata-Marlow have each been named in the squad and are available for selection.

Youngsters Andrew Pawiak, Michael Kantarovski, Braedyn Crowley, and Nick Cowburn have also been registered as part of the squad.

New Jets recruits Labinot Haliti and Mateo Poljak.

Hyundai A-League transfer wrap: club-by-club guide

Off-season attacking recruit Andy Brennan is not eligible due to his previous participation in the 2015 version of the competition with Victorian outfit South Melbourne.

Tuesday evening’s game will be Miller’s first competitive match in charge of the Jets and insists a good performance is vital as the club looks to build towards the 2015/16 Hyundai A-League campaign.

“I said to players the other day there are three key factors we need to consider, winning, performance and momentum for the season,” Miller said.

“Momentum is a big thing and if we win that match or we put in a performance that warrants winning, I’ll be happy.

“Importantly upon reviewing the game I want to see the principles and structures we’ve put in place over that last three to four weeks,” he said.

Newcastle Jets 2015 Westfield FFA Cup Squad: 

1. Mark BIRIGHITTI (Gk), 2. Daniel MULLEN, 3. Jason HOFFMAN, 4. Nigel BOOGAARD, 5. Ben KANTAROVSKI, 6. Cameron WATSON, 7. Enver ALIVODIC, 8. Mateo POLJAK, 11. Labinot HALITI, 13. LEE Ki-je, 14. Mitch COOPER, 15. Themba MUATA-MARLOW, 16. Nick COWBURN, 17. Radovan PAVICEVIC, 18. Josh BARRESI, 19. Andrew PAWIAK, 20. Ben KENNEDY (Gk), 21. Michael KANTAROVSKI, 22. Lachlan JACKSON, 23. David CARNEY, 25. Brandon LUNDY, TBD. Braedyn Crowley