NAB Young Footballer of the Year: past winners

Did you know that Jamie Maclaren and Mat Ryan both claimed back-to-back NAB Young Footballer of the Year awards?

With the first nomination for this season's award not too far away, we take a look back at the past winners in both the Hyundai A-League and Westfield W-League. 

Check out everything to do with the NAB Young Footballer of the Year at


Remy Siemsen (Sydney FC) 2016/17 season

In her first season in the Westfield W-League, the rising Sky Blues star was her side's top scorer with six goals.

Remy Siemsen


Larissa Crummer (Melbourne City) 2015/16 Season

A standout winner following a prolific Westfield W-League season for champions City, where she scored 11 goals.



Other former winners include: 

Amy Harrison (Sydney FC, 2014), Steph Catley (Melbourne Victory, 2012/13 & 13/14),Ashley Brown (Melbourne Victory, 2011/12), Kyah Simon (Sydney FC, 2010/11), Elise Kellond-Knight (Brisbane Roar, 2009) and Ellyse Perry (Canberra United, 2009)


Jamie Maclaren (Brisbane Roar) 2016/17 Season

It was back-to-back wins for 'Macca' as he enjoyed another outstanding season, finishing as the Hyundai A-League's joint Golden Boot winner with Victory's Besart Berisha and becoming the first player to score 20 goals in successive seasons.

Remy Siemsen; Jamie Maclaren


Jamie Maclaren (Brisbane Roar) 2015/16 Season

It was a breakout season for Maclaren during which he scored 20 goals, the most ever by an Australian in a Hyundai A-League campaign, guiding his side to within one match of the Grand Final, scoring twice in the heartbreaking 5-4 loss to Western Sydney in the semi-finals.



James Jeggo (Adelaide United) 2014/15 Season

The Austrian-born midfielder took his game to new heights under Spanish mentor Josep Gombau, playing almost every match as the Reds fell just one game short of the Grand Final.

James Jeggo


Adam Taggart (Newcastle Jets) 2013/14 Season

In a team that missed the finals series, the red-hot striker scored 16 goals in 25 games to win the Golden Boot and earn himself a move to Fulham.



Marco Rojas (Melbourne Victory) 2012/13 Season

The 'Kiwi Messi' capped a sublime 15-goal season by not only winning the NAB Young Footballer of the Year but also the Johnny Warren Medal.

Marco Rojas


Mat Ryan (Central Coast Mariners) 2011/12 Season

The Mariners custodian and current Caltex Socceroos shot-stopper went back-to-back as the Mariners won the Premiers’ Plate.

Mat Ryan


Mat Ryan (Central Coast Mariners) 2010/11 Season

In his first season in the Hyundai A-League, Ryan kept 11 clean sheets to help his side reach the grand final.

Mat Ryan


Tommy Oar (Brisbane Roar) 2009/10 Season

The 18-year-old winger burst onto the Australian football public's consciousness with a string of superb performances.



Other former winners include: 

Scott Jamieson (Adelaide United, 2008/09), Bruce Djite (Adelaide United, 2007/08), Adrian Leijer (Melbourne Victory, 2006/07) and Nick Ward (Perth Glory, 2005/06)