NAB Young Footballer of the Year back for 2017/18 Season

With the Hyundai A-League in full swing and the Westfield W-League about to kick off, it’s time to get excited about the emerging talent coming through in the respective competitions.

And that means the NAB Young Footballer of the Year is back, with the first nominee from the Hyundai A-League coming soon.

Previous winners include Caltex Socceroos goalkeeper Mat Ryan, striker Jamie Maclaren and Kiwi international Marco Rojas, while emerging Westfield Young Matilda Remy Siemsen last season’s winner in the Westfield W-League.

Check out everything to do with the NAB Young Footballer of the Year at:

The NAB Young Footballer of the Year award not only supports young football talent, it also recognises the value that junior clubs make to the community and the development of young players.

So how does it work?

Each month, outstanding performances by young players are rewarded with a monthly nomination for the NAB Young Footballer of the Year.

At the end of the season a panel of experts vote for an overall winner for both leagues using a 3-2-1 points basis.

There is also the opportunity for fans to have their say, with a Fan Vote to assist the expert panel in selecting the winner of the NAB Young Footballer of the Year.

Australian and New Zealand Hyundai A-League players aged 23 years and under and Westfield W-League players aged 19 years and under are eligible to win the award.

Each winner receives a $10,000 personal investment portfolio and a NAB Private Client Manager to assist with meeting their financial goals.

NAB recognise the impact that junior clubs have on a player’s career, which is why each nominees’ junior club receives a NAB Club Recognition Award, including practical and financial resources to assist the club in continuing to develop future Australian football stars.