Mierzejewski worthy winner of Johnny Warren Medal

Adrian Mierzejewski has finished his first Hyundai A-League season in Pole Position.

The 31-year-old Sydney FC midfielder has delivered on his favouritism to be named the Johnny Warren Medallist for 2018.

Mierzejewski finished 11 points clear of Newcastle Jets attacker Dimi Petratos and Melbourne Victory's Dutch star Leroy George in the voting, tallying 37 points to claim the Hyundai A-League's top individual honour.

Petratos and George both collected 26 points with Sydney FC striker Bobo (24) and Adelaide United skipper Isaias (20) rounding out the top five.

After each regular season round, votes were cast by a panel that included former professional players, technical experts, match officials and media representatives.

It became obvious early in the season that Mierzejewski would be a front-runner for the award with his silky skills and attacking ability eventually driving the Sky Blues to a second consecutive Premiership.

In his debut year in the Hyundai A-League, the former Polish international played 25 matches, scoring 13 goals and laying on a further nine assists.

He led Sydney FC in assists, crossing and dribbling and created 49 chances across the season.

Mierzejewski's passing accuracy was 79%, dropping only slightly to 75% in the attacking half.

Furthermore, his shooting accuracy was an impressive 71%.

Earlier this season, Mierzejewski won the Mark Viduka medal for player of the match in the FFA Cup final and was also named player of the year by broadcaster Fox Sports.

It also marked successive Johnny Warren Medals for Sydney FC with Milos Ninkovic claiming the top gong last season.




Johnny Warren Medal: Adrian Mierzejewski (Sydney FC)

Coach of the Year: Graham Arnold (Sydney FC)

Golden Boot: Bobo (Sydney FC - 27 goals)

Goal of the Year: Andrew Nabbout (Newcastle Jets, Round 20 v Western Sydney Wanderers FC)

Goalkeeper of the Year: Jamie Young (Brisbane Roar FC)

Young Footballer of the Year: Daniel Arzani (Melbourne City FC)

Referee of the Year: Jarred Gillett