Melbourne Victory v Adelaide United: match preview

Melbourne Victory will see their slim Hyundai A-League Finals Series hopes all but evaporate if they can’t be old enemy Adelaide United on Saturday night.

Victory now haven’t won any of their last six Hyundai A-League matches following last weekend’s 1-1 draw with the Jets in Newcastle.

It has left the 2018 Champions in ninth spot and nine points adrift of the top six, and another loss to their fierce rivals would be a shattering blow to their chances of moving up the ladder.

The Reds will love nothing more than to rub salt into Victory’s wounds with a third win over their Original Rivals this season, having won 3-1 and 1-0 in both previous clashes at Coopers Stadium.

But Gertjan Verbeek’s Adelaide have a few questions of their own to answer following a shock 5-2 drubbing at the hands of Western Sydney Wanderers last Friday.

Watch Live and Free

Click here to buy tickets

Saturday, 29 February 2020
Kick-off: 7.30pm AEDT
Venue: Marvel Stadium
Broadcast: FOX Sports 505
Stream: MyFootball Live App, Kayo Sports

BEST XI: Hyundai A-League Team of the Week - Round 20
HOW TO WATCH: Every Hyundai A-League match in Round 21
MINI MATCHES: Catch up on all the Hyundai A-League Round 20 action

Ways to watch

Download the MyFootball Live App now
Sign up for Kayo Sports
Get Foxtel

How to follow the action

Match centre: Live updates, videos and statistics

Follow @ALeague on Twitter and join the conversation using #MVCvADL #ALeague 

Ben Halloran celebrates
Ben Halloran scored the winner when these sides met in January

Team news

Melbourne Victory squad: 4.James DONACHIE, 5.Tim HOOGLAND, 6. Leigh BROXHAM, 7.Kenny ATHIU, 8.Jakob POULSEN, 9.Andrew NABBOUT, 11.Ola TOIVONEN, 15.Giancarlo GALLIFUOCO, 16.Josh HOPE, 17.Elvis KAMSOBA, 18.Migjen BASHA, 19.Ben CARRIGAN, 20.Lawrence THOMAS (gk), 21.Adama TRAORE, 23. Marco ROJAS, 24.Anthony LESIOTIS, 25.Brandon LAUTON, 30. Matthew SUTTON, 32. So NISHIKAWA

**1-3 to be omitted**

Ins: 32. So NISHIKAWA (promoted)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: 1.Matt ACTON (shoulder), 2.Storm ROUX (calf), 10.Robbie KRUSE (hamstring), 26.Jay BARNETT (leg)

Adelaide United squad: 2.Michael MARRONE, 5.Michaël MARIA, 7.Ryan KITTO, 8.Riley McGREE, 10.James TROISI, 11.Kristian OPSETH, 14.George BLACKWOOD 17.Nikola MILEUSNIĆ, 20.Paul IZZO (gk), 22.Michael JAKOBSEN (c), 23.Jordan ELSEY, 27.Louis D’ARRIGO, 29.Kusini YENGI, 31.Mirko BOLAND, 34.Yared ABETEW, 36.Noah SMITH, 40.Dakota OCHSENHAM (gk), 49.Mohamed TOURE

**0-2 to be omitted**

Ins: 10.James TROISI (returns from injury), 34.Yared ABETEW (promoted), 36.Noah SMITH (promoted)

Outs: 26.Ben HALLORAN (hamstring)

Unavailable: 4.Ryan STRAIN (hamstring), 6.Stefan MAUK (quad), 16.Nathan KONSTANDOPOULOS (knee), 18.Lachlan BROOK (international duty), 24.Pacifique NIYONGABIRE (adductor), 35.Al Hassan TOURE (foot)

Did you know?

  • Adelaide United have won their last four Hyundai A-League games on the bounce against Melbourne Victory. Only once in the history of this fixture has either team won more in succession (Victory – 10 wins from September 2008 to October 2010).
  • Victory have won nine of their last 11 home games against Adelaide United in the Hyundai A-League (L2), including their last three on the bounce.
  • There has been a total of 17 goals scored in Adelaide United’s last three Hyundai A-League games away from home; the Reds’ have been outscored 10-7 in that period, picking up just one win (L2).
  • Victory’s Marco Rojas is set to play his 100th Hyundai A-League game. He’s found the back of the net four times in his last six games against the Reds in the league.


Round 21: Victory v Adelaide

Pick a winner
Melbourne Victory
Melbourne Victory
Adelaide United
Adelaide United

Round 21: Victory v Adelaide