McKay named Roar's best

Captain Matt McKay has been named Brisbane Roar's player of the year for the second time at the club’s annual awards night on Thursday.

The 32-year-old, who first won the award in the 2006/07 campaign, capped off a strong season which saw him lead the club to the Hyundai A-League Finals Series and take representative honours as part of the Socceroos’ AFC Asian Cup-winning team.

Queensland football legend Gary Wilkins, Roar’s inaugural patron, was on hand to present the medal named in his honour to McKay.

Brisbane players celebrate Matt McKay's second-half goal.

“Matty is the type of player who leads by example, he gives his all in every game and in every training session,” Wilkins said.

“His commitment to this club is 100 per cent and any player to win this award needs to show all of this and more. Matt is a deserved winner of this year’s medal.”

Teenage teammate Brandon Borrello was recognised for his breakthrough season, awarded the Players’ Player award as voted by his peers, to add to his January nomination for NAB Young Footballer of the Year.

Aloisi named new Roar boss

Defender and foundation player Kim Carroll won the club’s Westfield W-League Player of the Year.

“One of the reasons Kim wins this award because of the level of consistency she performed at throughout the season,” Brisbane Roar W-League Head Coach Belinda Wilson said.

“But also, just as importantly, this award is for what she showed off the pitch and at training, the ability to help keep the group together in what was a tough year for us.”

Roar W-League captain Clare Polkinghorne, who is currently in Canada for the FIFA Women’s World Cup, won the Players’ Player award as voted by her teammates.