McKay inducted into Roar Hall of Fame as three Hyundai A-League greats bow out

He did not get the farewell he wanted on the pitch, but Matt McKay has received a massive accolade after playing his final Hyundai A-League match last week.

The two-time Championship winner with the Roar became the third played inducted in Brisbane Roar’s Hall of Fame at the club’s end-of-season awards night over the weekend.

McKay, who played his 272nd and final game for the club in the 5-3 Anzac Day loss to Adelaide United, joins triple-championship winners Michael Theo and Thomas Broich in the exclusive club.

McKay was one of three legends of the Hyundai A-League to bring down the curtain on their time with their respective clubs over the weekend.

Brisbane favourite Henrique, who missed the clash with the Reds through injury, and McKay were both given emotional farewells by the fans at Suncorp Stadium on Thursday.

A couple of days later, Mark Bridge also saw the end of his professional career as his Western Sydney Wanderers went down 1-0 against Melbourne Victory at ANZ Stadium.

SHOTS FIRED: City, Adelaide involved in hilarious Twitter war
DETAILS: All the dates for this season's Finals Series
WATCH FOR FREE: How to watch the Hyundai A-League LIVE and FREE

Bridge won two Hyundai A-League titles, at Newcastle Jets and Sydney FC, but produced some of his best football at the Wanderers, where he was much loved by the club's supporters.

He scored Western Sydney’s first-ever Hyundai A-League goal, while he will forever be remembered for his role in the club's 2014 AFC Champions League triumph before going on to become their most-capped player.

Here’s some of the social media tributes to these three greats of the Hyundai A-League.