Match preview: Wellington Phoenix v Perth Glory

Unbeaten and four points clear at the top of the Hyundai A-League ladder, Perth Glory will head to Westpac Stadium in a confident mood for Sunday’s clash with Wellington Phoenix.

While embarking on one of the longest road trips in world football, Glory cross the ditch having started the 2018/19 campaign with four wins and a draw from the opening five rounds.

They left it late – very late – to beat the Mariners last weekend but it’s those types of wins that build belief and momentum, two things Tony Popovic’s men have plenty of right now.

WATCH FOR FREE: How to watch the Hyundai A-League LIVE and FREE
TALKING POINTS: Superstar quality shines across Hyundai A-League
HEROIC MOMENTS: Stoppage-time hero Ikonomidis proves lightning does strike twice

The same can’t be said for Wellington, who have fallen away after an impressive start of their own under new boss Mark Rudan.

The 3-1 loss to Adelaide United last time out was their third on the trot.

But the ‘Nix have won their last two against the Glory in Wellington, scoring seven goals in the process.

The fixture is a milestone one for Glory striker Andy Keogh, who is set to make his 100th appearance in the Hyundai A-League on Sunday.

Key Opta stats

  • Wellington have won two of their last three Hyundai A-League games against Perth Glory (L1), including a 2-1 win in their most recent meeting.
  • Perth Glory have scored the opening goal of the game in each of their five games so far this Hyundai A-League season; no other team has managed this.
  • The Phoenix have lost their last three games on the bounce; the last time they lost more in succession was an eight-game stretch from March to October 2016.

Ins and outs

Wellington Phoenix squad: 1. Filip KURTO (GK), 4.Mandi SOSA, 5.Ryan LOWRY, 6.Dylan FOX, 8.Mitch NICHOLS, 9. Nathan BURNS, 11. David WILLIAMS, 13. Liberato CACACE, 14. Alex RUFER, 15. Michal KOPZCYNSKI, 16. Louis FENTON, 18.Sarpreet SINGH, 19.Tom DOYLE, 20.Oliver SAIL (GK), 21.Roy KRISHNA, 22. Andrew DURANTE (C), 23. Max BURGESS,  27. Steven TAYLOR

**two to be omitted**

Ins: 13. Liberato Cacace (promoted) 18. Sarpreet Singh (promoted)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: Nil

Perth Glory squad: 1.Tando VELAPHI (gk), 3.Jason DAVIDSON, 4.Shane LOWRY, 5.Ivan FRANJIC, 6.Dino DJULBIC, 7.Joel CHIANESE, 9.Andy KEOGH,  11.Brendon SANTALAB, 13.Matthew SPIRANOVIC, 14.Chris HAROLD,  15.Brandon WILSON, 16.Tomislav MRCELA, 17.Diego CASTRO, 19.Chris IKONOMIDIS, 20.Jake BRIMMER, 22.Fabio FERREIRA, 33.Liam REDDY (gk), 88.Neil KILKENNY

**two to be omitted**

Ins: 11.Brendon SANTALAB (promoted), 13.Matthew SPIRANOVIC (promoted), 14.Chris HAROLD (promoted)

Outs: 2.Alex GRANT (injured)

Unavailable: 2.Alex GRANT (foot – 1-2 weeks), 23.Scott NEVILLE (ankle 1-2 weeks), 27.JUANDE (knee – 1-2 weeks)

Andy Keogh and Chris Ikonomidis

How to watch

Don't miss the Distance Derby at 5:00pm (AEDT) on FOX SPORTS 505.


You can get your tickets for Wellington's clash with the Glory by heading here.


Round 6: Wellington Phoenix v Perth Glory

Tip the result
Wellington Phoenix
Wellington Phoenix
Perth Glory
Perth Glory

Thanks for your tip!