Match preview: Brisbane Roar v Perth Glory

Brisbane Roar faces a huge task to get their Hyundai A-League 2018/19 Season off the ground as they take on league-leaders Perth Glory on Sunday night.

While their performances have been encouraging over the last two matches, they are still searching for their first win under interim boss Darren Davies.

Roar are at least showing plenty of fight, coming from behind twice to snatch a hard-fought 2-2 draw against the Jets in Newcastle on Wednesday night.

TEAM NEWS: Find out who made the cut for Round 11
STATS REVIEW: Roar on the verge of unwanted record

Striker Adam Taggart was on the scoresheet against his former club in that one and he’d love nothing more than to do similar against another of his former employers in Glory.

It was business as usual for Tony Popovic’s Glory as they brought the curtain down on 2018 with an emphatic performance and win over the Mariners in Gosford.

Even without Caltex Socceroos winger Chris Ikonomidis, Glory aren’t lacking in firepower with striker Andy Keogh returning to his best form.

Glory got the better of the Roar when the two sides met earlier this season, prevailing 2-1 back in Round 3.

Key Opta stats

  • Perth have recorded just three wins from 20 visits to Suncorp Stadium (D4, L13), scoring one first-half goal in their last five visits here.
  • Brisbane Roar have conceded two goals in the opening 15 minutes of their home games this season- only Central Coast Mariners (2) have conceded as many in this period on home soil.
  • The results are split at four wins apiece in the last nine encounters between Brisbane Roar and Perth Glory (D1), with no side held goalless in this span.

Ins and Outs

Brisbane Roar FC squad: 1.Brendan WHITE (gk), 2.Dane INGHAM, 4.Daniel BOWLES, 7.Thomas KRISTENSEN, 8.Jacob PEPPER, 9.Adam TAGGART, 11.Eric BAUTHEAC, 14.Alex LOPEZ, 15.Stefan NIGRO, 17.Matt MCKAY (c), 18.Joe CALETTI, 19.Jack HINGERT, 21.Jamie YOUNG (gk), 23.Dylan WENZEL-HALLS, 24.Connor O’TOOLE, 26.Nick D’AGOSTINO, 33.HENRIQUE, 34.Aaron REARDON.  **two to be omitted**

Ins: 4.Daniel BOWLES (returns from suspension), 7.Thomas KRISTENSEN (promoted)
Outs: Nil
Unavailable: 6.Avram PAPADOPOULOS (glute),10.Brett HOLMAN (knee), 13.Stefan MAUK (groin)

Perth Glory squad: 1.Tando VELAPHI (gk), 2.Alex GRANT, 3.Jason DAVIDSON, 4.Shane LOWRY, 5.Ivan FRANJIC, 6.Dino DJULBIC, 7.Joel CHIANESE, 9.Andy KEOGH, 11.Brendon SANTALAB, 13.Matthew SPIRANOVIC, 15.Brandon WILSON, 16.Tomislav MRCELA, 17.Diego CASTRO, 20.Jake BRIMMER, 22.Fabio FERREIRA,  27.JUANDE, 33.Liam REDDY (gk), 88.Neil KILKENNY.  **two to be omitted**

Ins: 4.Shane LOWRY (returns from suspension), 15.Brandon WILSON (promoted)
Outs: None
Unavailable: 19.Chris IKONOMIDIS (international duty)

How to watch

Tune in to FOX SPORTS 505 to catch Sunday's evening's showdown. You can also stream it live on the MyFootball Live App, live Fast and Data Free for Telstra mobile customers.

WATCH FOR FREE: How to watch the Hyundai A-League LIVE and FREE


Grab your tickets for Roar’s tussle with the Glory in Brisbane here!


Round 11: Brisbane Roar v Perth Glory

Tip the result
Brisbane Roar FC
Brisbane Roar FC
Perth Glory
Perth Glory

Thanks for your tip!