Star winger named Victory's Player of the Season

Dutch winger Leroy George has been named Melbourne Victory's Player of the Season at the club's annual awards on Saturday night. 

George, 31, finished with 53 votes, one ahead of Rhys Williams (52 votes) and 11 ahead of Kosta Barbarouses, Lawrence Thomas and Thomas Deng who all finished on 42 votes. 

He lead the Hyundai A-League with 14 assists, while he also bagged nine goals and played a leading role in Victory's run to the Championship.

The Dutchman also received recognition from his peers, taking out the Players' Player of the Season award.

Leroy George


Besart Berisha once again took out the Golden Boot award with 14 goals. 

Terry Antonis received the fan-voted Goal of the Season award for his incredible extra-time winner against Sydney FC in the Semi Final. 

The goal which secured Victory's place in the Grand Final came after Antonis scored an own goal late in regular time, adding to the emotion at Allianz Stadium.

2017/18 Victory Medal Night award winners

Victory Medal: Leroy George
A-League Players' Player of the Season: Leroy George
TCL Goal of the Season: Terry Antonis
TAC A-League Golden Boot: Besart Berisha
W-League Victory Medal: Christina Gibbons
W-League Players' Player of the Season: Christina Gibbons
TAC W-League Golden Boot: Natasha Dowie
NYL Victory Medal: Thierry Iradukunda