The key changes for Hyundai A-League 2019/20 Season

With the Hyundai A-League 2019/20 Season draw set to drop at 12pm AEST today (Thursday), we thought we'd remind you of some important changes to this season’s fixtures list.

The introduction of new club Western United FC means there are now 11 clubs in the competition meaning there has been the need to facilitate a weekly bye into the draw.

So while the last eight seasons of the competition – which has featured 10 clubs – has seen 27 rounds, the 2019/20 campaign will have 29 rounds.

Clubs will play 26 matches (13 at home, 13 away) over that period and each club will have three byes.

RIVALRIES: Every key derby date for Hyundai A-League 2019/20 Season
ROUND 1: Five blockbuster fixtures to kick off Hyundai A-League 2019/20 Season

Every club will play each of the other 10 sides twice, with and additional six matches per club that will see some clubs play each other three times over 29 rounds.

No more Split Rounds

In another change from last season, there will be no Split Rounds and no breaks for FIFA international dates.

The Hyundai A-League 2019/20 Season will start on Friday, October 11, with the 2020 Grand Final to be held on the weekend 16/17 May.

The Finals Series structure will remain the same, with Elimination Finals (3v6 & 4v5) and Semi Finals (1 v lowest-ranked winner from Elimination Finals, 2 v highest-ranked winner from Elimination Finals), followed by the Grand Final.

Stay tuned to all Hyundai A-League channels to see the full draw for the 15th season of the competition at 12pm AEST!

Click here to sign up to a football account to receive it direct in your inbox.