Kate Jacewicz and Ben Abraham appointed to Hyundai A-League Referee Panel for first time

Kate Jacewicz has created history today as the first female referee appointed to the Hyundai A-League Referees Panel.

Football Federation Australia (FFA) today released the names of the Match Officials that will control matches during the upcoming Hyundai A-League and Westfield W-League seasons.

Ben Abraham will also join Kate on the Hyundai A-League referees panel for the first time.

Alex King, who has been a Hyundai A-League Referee since 2017, has also been promoted to the position of a full-time referee joining Chris Beath and Shaun Evans.

HUB: All of the Hyundai A-League transfers for 2019/20
INTERNATIONAL: Three Hyundai A-League players in Caltex Socceroos squad 


FFA Chairman and Chair of the FFA Referees Committee, Chris Nikou, was proud to announce that Kate and Ben had been appointed to the Hyundai A-League referee panel along with all the other match officials.

“Kate is without doubt one of the leading referees in the world at any level and we congratulate her on the appointment to the Hyundai A-League referees panel.

“Kate is one of the most successful referees in Australian Football who has been named the Westfield W-League Referee of the Year a record breaking eight times and most recently refereed two matches at the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup as well as being appointed as the fourth official for the third place play-off match between England and Sweden.

“Ben is a referee that has come through the national referee development pathway and has proven himself more recently in the National Premier League and FFA Cup. We see plenty of potential with Ben to become a leading referee in the coming years.

“We look forward to seeing Kate, Ben and all the match officials in action for the upcoming seasons of the Hyundai A-League and Westfield W-League,” concluded Nikou.


FFA Director of Referees Ben Wilson congratulated Kate, Ben and all the match officials on their selection for the coming seasons.

“We've undertaken a rigorous selection exercise during the last few months and Kate and Ben were the outstanding candidates to be added to the Hyundai A-League Referees Panel.

“I would like to congratulate them on their appointment. They have been selected on merit and I have no doubt that they will be successful at this level,” concluded Wilson.

Get Onside Limitless banner

Hyundai A-League 2019/20 Referees (11)

  • Ben Abraham
  • Kurt Ams
  • Jonathan Barreiro
  • Chris Beath
  • Daniel Elder
  • Shaun Evans
  • Adam Fielding
  • Kate Jacewicz
  • Adam Kersey
  • Alex King
  • Stephen Lucas

Hyundai A-League 2019/20 Assistant Referees (28)

  • Ashley Beecham
  • Wilson Brown
  • Paul Cetrangolo
  • James Cleal
  • Matthew Cream
  • Scott Edeling
  • Ryan Gallagher
  • Andrej Giev
  • Owen Goldrick
  • Lance Greenshields
  • Daniel Ilievski
  • Sarah Jones
  • George Lakrindis
  • Andrew Lindsay
  • Nathan MacDonald
  • Josh Mannella
  • Matthew McOrist
  • Andrew Meimarakis
  • Tony Peart
  • Adam Powers
  • Kearney Robinson
  • Mark Rule
  • Arvin Shanmuganathan
  • Anton Shchetinin
  • Matthew Southern
  • Greg Taylor
  • David Walsh
  • Brad Wright

Hyundai A-League 2019/20 Fourth Officials (9)

  • Adam Bavcar
  • Daniel Cook
  • Tim Danaskos
  • Lachlan Keevers
  • Stephen Laurie
  • Jack Morgan
  • Katie Patterson
  • Casey Reibelt
  • Shane Skinner

Hyundai A-League 2019/20 Video Assistant Referees (3)

  • Kris Griffiths-Jones
  • Nick Waldron
  • Craig Zetter

Westfield W-League 2019/20 Referees (8)

  • Isabella Blaess
  • Rebecca Durcau
  • Georgia Ghirardello
  • Kate Jacewicz
  • Kelly Jones
  • Rachel Mitchenson
  • Casey Reibelt
  • Lara Smith

Westfield W-League 2019/20 Assistant Referees (17)

  • Danielle Anderson
  • Avrol Beecham
  • Joanna Charaktis
  • Renae Coghill
  • Delfina Dimoski
  • Anastasia Filocouridis
  • Lauren Hargrave
  • Eleanor Hayes
  • Sarah Ho
  • Emma Kockbek
  • Laura Moya
  • Paula Orlandi
  • Misuk Park
  • Maggie Price
  • Janelle Sammut
  • Nia Southwell
  • Jasmine Steger

Westfield W-League 2019/20 Fourth Officials (3)

  • Isabella Libri
  • Rebecca Mackie
  • Caitlyn Williams