Independent Disciplinary & Ethics Committee Determination: Avram Papadopoulos

The Football Federation Australia (FFA) independent Disciplinary & Ethics Committee comprising John Marshall SC (Chair), Anthony Lo Surdo SC and Robert Wheatley (the Committee) today delivered their determination in the matter of Avram Papadopoulos (the Player) of Brisbane Roar FC.

The matter was referred to the Committee by the independent Match Review Panel for hearing and determination whether, having regard to all the circumstances, the Player had committed the offence of “Spitting at a player” (Offence), and if so, what sanction should be imposed.

The Committee determined that the Player had committed the Offence and must serve a suspension of seven (7) Hyundai A-League matches.

The Minimum Sanction for the Offence is six (6) matches.

As the Player has already served his Mandatory Match Suspension in Brisbane Roar FC’s Round 9 match against Western Sydney Wanderers FC on Saturday, 2 December 2017, the Player will be will be ineligible for Brisbane Roar FC’s matches in Rounds 10 to 15.

The Player will be eligible to return for Brisbane Roar FC’s Round 16 match against the Newcastle Jets scheduled for 12 January 2017.

If the Player wishes to appeal the determination of the Committee, he must advise FFA of his intention to do so within 7 days of receiving the written determination.