Ikonomidis named November nominee for NAB Young Footballer of the Year Award


Perth, Australia
Thursday, 29 November 2018

Football Federation Australia (FFA) and NAB, together with Perth Glory are proud to announce Chris Ikonomidis as the October/November nominee for the Hyundai A-League, NAB Young Footballer of the Year Award.

This is Chris’ second time that he has been nominated for the NAB Young Footballer of the Year after receiving his first nomination in February this year.

Since joining Perth Glory during the off-season, Chris has featured in all five matches of the Hyundai A-League 2018/19 Season so far, scoring four goals and has played a key role in Perth Glory holding a four point lead at the top of the table.

The NAB Young Footballer of the Year will be announced at the Dolan Warren Awards Ceremony next year.

NAB’s Head of Media & Partnerships, Thomas Dobson, said he is proud to see the NAB Young Footballer of the Year Award continue to identify and reward outstanding achievement of talented young footballers.

“We congratulate Chris on his nomination and look forward to watching his development and growth on the football field in the years to come,” said Dobson.

“We are also pleased to recognise Chris’ nominated junior club, Sutherland Sharks, and hope that our support will help the club to continue developing the game in communities across Australia.”

“Chris’ nominated junior club will receive a NAB Club Recognition Award, which includes a range of equipment along with $1,000.

The overall winner of the NAB Young Footballer of the Year 2018/19 Award will receive a $10,000 personal investment portfolio, along with a NAB Private Client Manager to assist with a range of banking products and services.

“As a supporter of the NAB Young Footballer of the Year program, we are proud to play an important role in identifying and rewarding the future stars of the game,” concluded Dobson.

Each month representatives from the FFA Technical Department vote on a 3-2-1 basis for the most outstanding U-23 players in the Hyundai A-League during that period.