Hyundai A-League Round 16 Preview

All the team news for this weekend's round of Hyundai A-League.

It-s Round 16 and only six rounds until the Hyundai A-League finals series - every minute counts.

Will your team secure a spot in the top four? If you are in Wellington, Newcastle or Sydney head down to a Hyundai A-League match and support your team this festive football season.

Weekend Match

Wellington Phoenix v Central Coast Mariners Friday 19 December Westpac Stadium, Wellington Local Kick off 7.30pm NZDT (5.30pm AEDT) Referee: Chris Beath

Live and exclusive broadcast on FOX Sports 1 and Sky Sport 1. Hyundai A-League club radio broadcast partner is Radio Network (Wellington) 1035AM and Coast FM (Gosford) 96.3FM. To purchase tickets visit

Wellington Phoenix: 20. Glen MOSS (gk), 2. Jeremy CHRISTIE, 3. Tony LOCHHEAD, 4. Jon McKAIN, 5. Karl DODD, 6. Tim BROWN, 7. Leo BERTOS, 8. Vaughan COVENY, 9. Shane SMELTZ, 10. Michael FERRANTE, 11. DANIEL, 12. Richard JOHNSON, 13. Troy HEARFIELD, 15. Adam KWASNIK, 18. Ben SIGMUND, 22. Andrew DURANTE (captain), 25. Manny MUSCAT, 30. Scott HIGGINS (gk). *three to be omitted

In: 8. Vaughan COVENY (promoted), 12. Richard JOHNSON (promoted), 15. Adam KWASNIK (promoted) Out: Nil

Others Unavailable: Vince Lia (knee - season)

Central Coast Mariners Squad: 20. Danny VUKOVIC (gk), 2. Andre GUMPRECHT, 4. Pedj BOJIC, 5. Bradley PORTER, 7. John HUTCHINSON, 8. Dean HEFFERNAN, 9. Nik MRDJA, 10. Adrian CACERES, 11. Dylan MACALLISTER, 15. Andrew CLARK, 17. Matthew OSMAN, 18. Alex WILKINSON, 19. Matt SIMON, 22. Sasho PETROVSKI, 23. Mile JEDINAK, 30. Andrew REDMAYNE (gk). one to be omitted

In: 15. Andrew CLARK (Promoted)

Out: Nil

Others Unavailable: Nigel BOOGAARD (Ankle - Indefinite), Ahmad Elrich (Knee - Season)

Stats, Facts & Milestones

Wellington Phoenix defender Jeremy Christie will make his 50th appearance in the Hyundai A-League in his next match.

HEAD-TO-HEAD RECORDS in all official competitions All matches (played 5): Wellington Phoenix wins 0, Central Coast Mariners wins 4 (1 draw). In Wellington (played 2): Wellington Phoenix wins 0, Central Coast Mariners wins 1 (1 draw).

Newcastle Jets v Melbourne Victory Friday 19 December EnergyAustralia Stadium, Newcastle Local kick off 8.00pm AEDT Referee: Craig Zetter

Live and exclusive broadcast on FOX Sports 1 and Sky Sport 1. Hyundai A-League club radio broadcast partner is 1233 ABC Newcastle and SEN (Melbourne) 1116AM. To purchase tickets visit

Newcastle Jets Squad: 1.Ante COVIC (gk), 2.Adam GRIFFITHS, 3.Jade NORTH (c), 7.Kaz PATAFTA, 8.Matt THOMPSON, 9.Joel GRIFFITHS, 10.Jin-Hyung SONG, 11.Tarek ELRICH, 13. Adam D-APUZZO, 14.Shaun ONTONG, 16.Ben KANTAROVSKI, 24.Marko JESIC, 26.Mark MILLIGAN, 27.Sean ROONEY, 30.Justin PASFIELD (gk).

In: 7.Kaz Patafta (promoted), 10.Jin-Hyung Song (returns from injury).

Out: 12.Jobe Wheelhouse (suspended), 5.James Holland.

Others Unavailable: 15. Jason Hoffman (knee - season),18. Noel Spencer (ankle - indefinite), 20. Ben Kennedy (ankle - 6 weeks).

Melbourne Victory: 1.Michael THEOKLITOS (gk), 2.Kevin MUSCAT (Captain), 3.Michael THWAITE, 7.Matthew KEMP, 8.Grant BREBNER, 9.Danny ALLSOPP, 10.Archie THOMPSON, 11.NEY FABIANO, 12.Rodrigo VARGAS, 14.Billy CELESKI, 15.Tom PONDELJAK, 16.Carlos HERNANDEZ, 17.Jose Luis LOPEZ, 19.Evan BERGER, 20.Mitchell LANGERAK (gk), 22.Nick WARD. *one to be omitted

In: Evan Berger (return from injury)

Out: Nil

Others Unavailable: Nil

Stats, Facts & Milestones Two of the Hyundai A-League's sharpest shooters take the field at EnergyAustralia Stadium - Newcastle's Joel Griffiths (27 goals in 56 appearances) and Melbourne's Archie Thompson (34 goals in 66 appearances) have a combined goals per appearance tally of 61 goals in 122 appearances - a valuable rate of one goal in every two matches.

HEAD-TO-HEAD RECORD in all official competitions All matches (played 11): Newcastle Jets wins 6, Melbourne Victory wins 3 (2 draws). In Newcastle (played 4): Newcastle Jets wins 2, Melbourne Victory wins 1 (1 draw).

Sydney FC v Perth Glory Sunday 21 December Sydney Football Stadium Local kick off 5.00pm AEDT (3.00pm AWDT) Referee: Ben Williams

Live and exclusive broadcast on FOX Sports 1 and Sky Sport 3. Hyundai A-League club radio broadcast partner is 6PR (Perth). To purchase tickets visit

Sydney FC Squad: 1. Clint BOLTON (gk), 2. Iain FYFE, 7. Rob MIDDLEBY, 8. Stuart MUSIALIC, 10. Steve CORICA (c), 12. Shannon COLE, 14. Alex BROSQUE, 16. Chris PAYNE, 19. Mark BRIDGE, 20. Ivan NECEVSKI (gk), 23. John ALOISI, 28. Bobby PETTA, 29. Beau BUSCH, 31. Antony GOLEC, 32. Brendan GAN.

In: Nil

Out: Nil

Others Unavailable: 3. Adam BIDDLE (ankle - 1 week), 18. Adam CASEY (quadricep - 2 weeks), 4. Simon COLOSIMO (groin - 2 weeks), 22. Mike ENFIELD (knee - indefinite), 15. Terry McFLYNN (knee - 3 weeks), 5. Mitchell PRENTICE (groin - 1 week), 11. Brendon SANTALAB (shoulder - 2 weeks).

Perth Glory Squad: 30.Tando VELAPHI (gk), 1.Jason PETKOVIC (gk), 2.Nikolai TOPOR-STANLEY, 3.David TARKA, 5.Jamie HARNWELL, 7.Nick RIZZO, 9.Adrian TRINIDAD, 11.Scott BULLOCH, 13.Nikita RUKAVYTSYA, 14.Eugene DADI, 16.Adriano PELLEGRINO, 17.James DOWNEY, 19.Naum SEKULOVSKI, 21.Mark LEE, 22.Wayne SRHOJ, 25.Marc ANTHONY, 28.Andrija JUKIC. *two to be omitted

In: 9.Adrian TRINIDAD (return from injury), 21.Mark LEE (promoted).

Out: Nil

Others Unavailable: Josip MAGDIC (ankle - season), AMARAL (hamstring - season), James ROBINSON (abdomen - 2 weeks), Hayden Foxe (leg - test), Jamie COYNE (calf - 2 weeks)

Stats, Facts & Milestones Sydney will be aiming to halt a streak of four winless matches at home - Sydney have never gone five home matches in a row without a win.

HEAD-TO-HEAD RECORDS in all official competitions All matches (played 11): Sydney FC wins 4, Perth Glory wins 2 (5 draws). In Sydney (played 5): Sydney FC wins 2, Perth Glory wins 1 (2 draws)

Please Note: **Adelaide United v Queensland Roar** Tuesday 14 January Hindmarsh Stadium, Adelaide Local kick off 7.30pm ACDT (7.00pm AQST)

Note. - Squads subject to change - Match date and kick-off times are subject to change without notice.


Leo Bertos (Wellington Phoenix) turns 27 on Saturday 20-Dec


2005/06 What remains as one of the highest-scoring rounds of the Hyundai A-League occurred in Round 16, 2005/06 when 19 goals were scored in four games, including a 4-2 victory to Adelaide United over Queensland Roar - giving Adelaide an almost unassailable 7 point led at the top of the ladder.

2006/07 The 50,000 crowd milestone was broken for the first time in Australian domestic league history in Round 16, 2006/07 as 50,333 turn out at the Telstra Dome to see Melbourne Victory and Sydney FC battle out a 0-0 draw.

2007/08 Round 16, 2007/08 was highlighted by a pulsating top-of-the-table clash between Queensland Roar and Central Coast Mariners, the match ending 2-1 to the Roar and putting the Queenslanders just one point behind the Mariners at the head of the ladder.