Hyundai A-League - Round 1 Preview

All the information you need regarding Round 1 action of the Hyundai A-League

The wait is over and football is back with the Hyundai A-League season set to start this weekend.

To kick off the season and in celebration of achieving 700,000 sales last month, Hyundai is giving football fans who attend a Hyundai A-League match* during the first 3 rounds of the 2008/09 season the opportunity to win a Hyundai i30 SR 2.0 litre petrol 5 speed manual car.

The i30 SR is the top of the line model featuring 17” alloy wheels, leather and cloth seats, an in-dash 6 stack CD system with amplifier and iPod & USB connectivity.

To enter the competition, football fans attending one of the first three round matches in Australia have to keep proof of attendance (e.g. ticket stub or season pass) and register their details at www.ilovefootball.com.au.

Terms and Conditions can be viewed at. www.hyundai.com.au * Australian matches only (excludes NZ)

Newcastle Jets v Central Coast Mariners Friday 15 August 2008 Kick-Off 8.00pm AEST (10.00pm NZST, 7.30pm ACST, 6.00pm AWST) EnergyAustralia Stadium, Newcastle Referee. Matthew Breeze Assistant Referees. Rodney Allen & Murray Wilson Fourth Official. Stuart Wolfe

TV. Live & Exclusive Fox Sports 3 (www.foxsports.com.au) - Match broadcast commences 7.00pm AEST (6.30pm ACST, 5.00pm AWST), Sky Sports 3 (www.skytv.co.nz) - Match broadcast commences 10.00pm NZST.

Radio. Coast FM 96.3FM (Central Coast) - www.coastfm.org.au

Tickets. PROticket - available via internet or phone and at the venue. Visit www.proticket.com.au or call +61 2 4915 2345

Newcastle Jets Squad: 1.Ante COVIC (gk), 2.Adam GRIFFITHS, 7.Kaz PATAFTA, 8.Matt THOMPSON, 9.Joel GRIFFITHS, 10.Jin-Hyung SONG, 11.Tarek ELRICH, 12.Jobe WHEELHOUSE, 13.Adam D-APUZZO, 15.Jason HOFFMAN, 16.Ben KANTAROVSKI, 17.Antun KOVACIC, 18.Noel SPENCER, 20.Ben KENNEDY(gk), 23.Edmundo ZURA *Two to be omitted

In: Jobe Wheelhouse (promoted), Ben Kantarovski (promoted)

Out: Jason Naidovski (not selected), Beau Busch (trial period ended), Jesper Hakansson (calf injury - 1 week)

Others Unavailable: Jade North, James Holland, Shaun Ontong (ankle - indefinite), Jesper Hakansson (calf - 1 week)

Central Coast Mariners Squad: 4. Pedj BOJIC, 5. Bradley PORTER, 6. David D'APUZZO, 7. John HUTCHINSON, 8. Dean HEFFERNAN, 9. Nik MRDJA, 10. Adrian CACERES, 13. Paul O'GRADY, 15. Andrew CLARK, 17. Matthew OSMAN, 18. Alex WILKINSON, 19. Matt SIMON, 20. Danny VUKOVIC (gk), 21. Ahmad ELRICH, 22. Sasho PETROVSKI, 30. Andrew REDMAYNE (gk)

In: Pedj Bojic (Promoted), David D'Apuzzo (Promoted), Dean Heffernan (Promoted), Andrew Clark (Returns From Suspension), Andrew Redmayne (Promoted), Matt Simon (Return from national team duty)

Out: Andre Gumprecht (Knee - Indefinite), Dylan Macallister (Ribs - Indefinite), Nigel Boogaard (Groin - Indefinite), Mark Bosnich (Triallist Period Concluded)

Others Unavailable: Greg Owens (Hamstring - Indefinite), Nigel Boogaard (Groin - Indefinite), Mile Jedinak (Groin - Indefinite)

Stats, Facts & Milestones This will be the 15th meeting between these two sides, the first time ever that two sides have met 15 times in the Hyundai A-League. In addition to their nine home-and-away season meetings, the Jets and the Mariners have previously met in five finals encounters, including of course the Hyundai A-League 2008 Grand Final where the Jets got up 1-0.

HEAD-TO-HEAD RECORD in all official competitions All matches (played 14). Newcastle Jets wins 6, Central Coast Mariners wins 3 (5 draws) In Newcastle (played 6). Newcastle Jets wins 4, Central Coast Mariners wins 1 (1 draw)

Previous confrontations: 04-09-05 Newcastle Jets 1 - 1 Central Coast Mariners (Bluetongue Stadium) Round 2, 2005/06 23-10-05 Newcastle Jets 1 - 0 Central Coast Mariners (EnergyAustralia Stadium) Round 9, 2005/06 31-12-05 Newcastle Jets 1 - 4 Central Coast Mariners (Bluetongue Stadium) Round 16, 2005/06 10-02-06 Newcastle Jets 0 - 1 Central Coast Mariners (EnergyAustralia Stadium) 2006 Finals Series 17-02-06 Newcastle Jets 1 - 1 Central Coast Mariners (Bluetongue Stadium) 2006 Finals Series 23-09-06 Newcastle Jets 1 - 1 Central Coast Mariners (Bluetongue Stadium) Round 5, 2006/07 12-11-06 Newcastle Jets 3 - 1 Central Coast Mariners (EnergyAustralia Stadium) Round 12, 2006/07 05-01-07 Newcastle Jets 1 - 0 Central Coast Mariners (EnergyAustralia Stadium) Round 19, 2006/07 07-10-07 Newcastle Jets 1 - 1 Central Coast Mariners (Bluetongue Stadium) Round 7, 2007/08 25-11-07 Newcastle Jets 0 - 0 Central Coast Mariners (EnergyAustralia Stadium) Round 14, 2007/08 12-01-08 Newcastle Jets 2 - 1 Central Coast Mariners (Bluetongue Stadium) Round 20, 2007/08 27-01-08 Newcastle Jets 2 - 0 Central Coast Mariners (EnergyAustralia Stadium) 2008 Finals Series 10-02-08 Newcastle Jets 0 - 3 Central Coast Mariners (Bluetongue Stadium) 2008 Finals Series 24-02-08 Newcastle Jets 1 - 0 Central Coast Mariners (Sydney Football Stadium) 2008 Grand Final

Sydney FC v Melbourne Victory Saturday 16 August 2008 Kick-Off pm 7.00pm AEST (9.00pm NZST, 6.30pm ACST, 5.00pm AWST) Sydney Football Stadium, Sydney Referee. Mark Shield Assistant Referees. Ben Wilson & Daniel Dewhurst Fourth Official. James Lewis

TV. Live & Exclusive Fox Sports 3 (www.foxsports.com.au) - Match broadcast commences 6.30pm AEST (6.00pm ACST, 4.30pm AWST), Sky Sports 3 (www.skytv.co.nz) - Match broadcast commences 9.00pm NZST.

Tickets. Ticketek - available via internet or phone and at the venue. Call 132 849 or visit www.ticketek.com.au

Sydney FC Squad: 1. Clint BOLTON (gk), 2. Iain FYFE, 3. Nick TSATTALIOS, 4. Simon COLOSIMO, 6. Tony POPOVIC, 7. Robbie MIDDLEBY, 10. Steve CORICA, 12. Shannon COLE, 15. Terry MCFLYNN, 16. Chris PAYNE, 17. Jacob TIMPANO, 18. Adam CASEY, 20. Ivan NECEVSKI (gk), 21. Adam BIDDLE, 24. Ryan WALSH, 25. Robbie MILESKI. * One to be omitted

In: Simon Colosimo (return suspension), Chris Payne (new signing), Clint Bolton (return from injury), Shannon Cole (new signing), Robbie Mileski (replacement player)

Out: John Filan (trial period ended), Chris Van Leur (trial period ended), Alex Brosque (suspended - 1 week), Mitchell Prentice (suspended - 2 weeks) and Dez Giraldi (suspended - 1 week)

Others Unavailable: Stuart Musialik (national team duty) Mark Bridge (national team duty), John Aloisi (foot injury - 1 week), Brendon Santalab (thigh injury - 2 weeks) and Mike Enfield (knee injury - 6 weeks)

Melbourne Victory Squad: 1.Michael THEOKLITOS (gk), 2.Kevin MUSCAT (Captain), 3.Michael THWAITE, 4.Steven PACE, 5.Sebastian RYALL, 6.Steve PANTELIDIS, 7.Matthew KEMP, 9.Danny ALLSOPP, 11.NEY FABIANO, 12.Rodrigo VARGAS, 13.Nathan ELASI, 14.Billy CELESKI, 15.Tom PONDELJAK, 16.Carlos HERNANDEZ, 17.Jose Luis LOPEZ, 18.Leigh BROXHAM, 19.Evan BERGER, 20.Mitchell LANGERAK (gk). * Three to be omitted

In: Kevin Muscat (return from injury), Steve Pantelidis (returned from injury), Billy Celeski (return from national team duty), Leigh Borxham (return from national team duty)

Out: Nick Ward (calf - 1 week)

Others Unavailable: Grant Brebner (groin - 2 weeks), Archie Thompson (ankle - 2 weeks), Daniel Vasilevski (hip - 4 weeks)

Stats, Facts & Milestones Sydney FC will be aiming to score their 100th goal in the Hyundai A-League in this, their 71st match. Sydney scored their first ever Hyundai A-League goal against Melbourne in Round 1 of the 2005/06 season. Leading into Round 1 of the 2008/09 season, only Melbourne Victory (104) and Adelaide United (101) have scored more than 100 goals in the Hyundai A-League.

HEAD-TO-HEAD RECORDS in all official competitions All matches (played 9). Sydney FC wins 1, Melbourne Victory wins 4 (4 draws) In Sydney (played 5). Sydney FC wins 1, Melbourne Victory wins 2 (2 draws)

Previous confrontations: Previous confrontations 28-08-05 Sydney FC 1 - 1 Melbourne Victory (Sydney Football Stadium) Round 1, 2005/06 16-10-05 Sydney FC 0 - 5 Melbourne Victory (Olympic Park) Round 8, 2005/06 03-12-05 Sydney FC 2 - 1 Melbourne Victory (Sydney Football Stadium) Round 15, 2005/06 02-09-06 Sydney FC 2 - 3 Melbourne Victory (Telstra Dome) Round 2, 2006/07 21-10-06 Sydney FC 1 - 2 Melbourne Victory (Sydney Football Stadium) Round 9, 2006/07 08-12-06 Sydney FC 0 - 0 Melbourne Victory (Telstra Dome) Round 16, 2006/07 06-10-07 Sydney FC 0 - 1 Melbourne Victory (Sydney Football Stadium) Round 7, 2007/08 10-11-07 Sydney FC 0 - 0 Melbourne Victory (Telstra Dome) Round 12, 2007/08 20-01-08 Sydney FC 2 - 2 Melbourne Victory (Sydney Football Stadium) Round 21, 2007/08

Wellington Phoenix v Queensland Roar Sunday 17 August 2008 Kick-Off 5.00pm NZST (3.00pm AEST, 2.30pm ACST, 1.00pm AWST) Westpac Stadium, Wellington, New Zealand Referee. Ben Williams Assistant Referees. Glen Lochrie & Mark Rule Fourth Official. Peter O-Leary

TV. Sky Sport 1 (www.skytv.co.nz) - Match broadcast commences 4.30pm NZST, Live & Exclusive Fox Sports 3 (www.foxsports.com.au) - Match broadcast commences 3.00pm AEST (2.30pm ACST, 1.00pm AWST).

Radio. The Radio Network (www.radionetwork.co.nz) 1035 AM Wellington www.radionetwork.co.nz

Tickets. Ticketek - available via internet or phone and at the venue. Call 0800 TICKETEK (0800 84253835) or 04 3843840 or visit www.ticketek.co.nz

Wellington Phoenix Squad: 1. Mark PASTON (gk), 2. Jeremy CHRISTIE, 3. Tony LOCHHEAD, 4. Jon McKAIN, 5. Karl DODD, 6. Tim BROWN, 7. Leo BERTOS, 8. Vaughan COVENY, 9. Shane SMELTZ, 10. Michael FERRANTE, 11. DANIEL, 12. Richard JOHNSON, 13. Troy HEARFIELD, 15. Adam KWASNIK, 16. David MULLIGAN, 18. Ben SIGMUND, 20. Glen MOSS (gk), 21. Leilei GAO, 22. Andrew DURANTE (captain), 23. Costa BARBAROUSES, 25. Manny MUSCAT * Six to be omitted

In: Jeremy Christie (promoted), Tony Lochhead (return from trials), Tim Brown (promoted), Costa Barbarouses (promoted), Andrew Durante (return from suspension), David Mulligan (new signing)

Out: Nil

Others Unavailable: Vince Lia (knee - season), Greg Draper (national duty -1 week)

Queensland Roar Squad: 1 Liam REDDY (gk), 3 Luke DEVERE, 5 Josh McCLOUGHAN, 6 Dave DODD, 7 Michael ZULLO, 8 Massimo MURDOCCA, 9 Sergio VAN DIJK, 10 Charlie MILLER, 11 Reinaldo, 14 Ben GRIFFIN, 15 Matt McKAY, 16 Hyuk-Su SEO, 18 Danny TIATTO, 20 Griffin McMASTER (rgk), 23 Tim SMITS.

In: Josh McCloughan (returned from injury)

Out: Craig Moore (suspended - 1 week)

Others Unavailable: Andrew Packer (injured), Isaka Cernak (injured)

Stats, Facts & Milestones Wellington Phoenix veterans Vaughan Coveny and Richard Johnson will each be making their 50th Hyundai A-League appearance should they take the field in Sunday's match against Queensland Roar. Coveny, who is the New Zealand national team's all-time highest goal scorer, joined the Phoenix in 2007 after two seasons at Newcastle Jets, while Johnson, who returned down under in 2005 after 13 years in England, also joined the inaugural Phoenix squad last season.

HEAD-TO-HEAD RECORDS in all official competitions All matches (played 3). Wellington Phoenix wins 0, Queensland Roar wins 2 (1 draw) In Wellington (played 1). Wellington Phoenix wins 0, Queensland Roar wins 0 (1 draw)

Previous confrontations: 05-10-07 Wellington Phoenix 1 - 2 Queensland Roar (Suncorp Stadium) Round 7, 2007/08 11-11-07 Wellington Phoenix 0 - 3 Queensland Roar (Suncorp Stadium) Round 12, 2007/08 14-12-07 Wellington Phoenix 1 - 1 Queensland Roar (Westpac Stadium) Round 17, 2007/08

Adelaide United v Perth Glory Sunday 17 August 2008 Kick-Off 4.30pm ACST (7.00pm NZST, 5.00pm AEST, 3.00pm AWST) Hindmarsh Stadium, Adelaide Referee. Peter Green Assistant Referees. Matthew Cream & Paul Cetrangolo Fourth Official. Regis Queffelec

TV. Live & Exclusive Fox Sports 3 (www.foxsports.com.au) - Match broadcast commences 5.00pm AEST (4.30pm ACDT, 3.00pm AWST), Sky Sports 3 (www.skytv.co.nz) - Match broadcast commences 7.00pm NZST.

Radio. Fresh FM (Adelaide) 92.7FM www.freshfm.com.au

Tickets. Venue*tix - available via internet or phone and at the venue. Visit www.venuetix.com.au or phone (08) 8225 8888.

Adelaide United Squad: 20. Eugene GALEKOVIC (gk), 2.Robert CORNTHWAITE, 3. Alemao, 4. Angelo COSTANZO, 7. Lucas PANTELIS, 9. Paul AGOSTINO, 10.Cristiano, 11. Robert YOUNIS, 12. Paul REID, 13.Travis DODD (capt.), 14. Scott JAMIESON, 15.Jonas SALLEY, 16.Daniel MULLEN, 18.Fabian BARBIERO, 19. Sasa OGNENOVSKI, 21.Jason SPAGNUOLO, 30 Mark BIRIGHITTI (gk). * Two to be omitted

In: Paul Agostino (returns from injury), Sasa Ognenovski (returns from injury), Robert Younis (promoted), Paul Reid (promoted)

Out: Cassio (calf - 2 weeks), Michael Valkanis (knee - 2 weeks)

Others Unavailable: Diego (hamstring - 2 weeks), Kristian Sarkies (international duty - 1 week), Daniel Beltrame (knee - season), Isyan Erdogan (hamstring - indefinite)

Perth Glory Squad: 1.Jason PETKOVIC (gk), 3.David TARKA, 4.Jamie COYNE, 6.Dino DJULBIC, 7.Nick RIZZO, 8.James ROBINSON, 9.Adrian TRINIDAD, 10.AMARAL, 11.Scott BULLOCH, 14.Eugene DADI, 15.Hayden DOYLE, 16.Adriano PELLEGRINO, 17.James DOWNEY, 19.Naum SEKULOVSKI, 20.Frank JURIC (gk), 21.Mark LEE. *One to be omitted

In: Dino Djulbic (promoted)

Out: Nil

Others Unavailable: Nikolai Topor-Stanley (International Team Duty), Jamie Harnwell (Hip - Test), Josip Magdic (Ankle - Test), Nikita Rukavytsya (International Team Duty), Hayden Foxe (Foot - 3 Weeks), Tando Velaphi (International Team Duty)

Stats, Facts & Milestones Adelaide United will be aiming to continue one of the most impressive form runs by a Hyundai A-League club in all official matches. Starting from the last round of the 2007/08 Hyundai A-League season, where the Reds defeated the Roar 2-0, Adelaide have gone ten matches undefeated (one Hyundai A-League match, six AFC Champions League matches and three Pre-Season Cup matches), scoring 13 and conceding just three along the way.

HEAD-TO-HEAD RECORDS in all official competitions All matches (played 9). Adelaide United wins 4, Perth Glory wins 2 (3 draws) In Adelaide (played 4). Adelaide United wins 2, Perth Glory wins 1 (1 draw)

Previous confrontations: 17-09-05 Adelaide United 2 - 1 Perth Glory (Members Equity Stadium) Round 4, 2005/06 06-11-05 Adelaide United 2 - 4 Perth Glory (Hindmarsh Stadium) Round 11, 2005/06 12-01-06 Adelaide United 2 - 1 Perth Glory (Members Equity Stadium) Round 18, 2005/06 16-09-06 Adelaide United 3 - 0 Perth Glory (Hindmarsh Stadium) Round 4, 2006/07 05-11-06 Adelaide United 3 - 2 Perth Glory (Hindmarsh Stadium) Round 11, 2006/07 28-12-06 Adelaide United 0 - 0 Perth Glory (Members Equity Stadium) Round 18, 2006/07 07-10-07 Adelaide United 0 - 0 Perth Glory (Members Equity Stadium) Round 7, 2007/08 23-11-07 Adelaide United 1 - 1 Perth Glory (Hindmarsh Stadium) Round 14, 2007/08 13-01-08 Adelaide United 2 - 3 Perth Glory (Members Equity Stadium) Round 20, 2007/08

Note. - Squads subject to change - Match date and kick-off times are subject to change without notice.