Hyundai A-League preview: Sydney FC v Victory

Sydney FC face the newly minted FFA Cup winners with the current league leaders desperate for revenge after the Big V smashed them in last season’s grand final. Expect fireworks in the Big Blue.


Saturday, 14 November 2015

Sydney FC v Melbourne Victory

Allianz Stadium, Sydney

Kick-Off: 7:30 PM (Local) (7:30 PM (AEDT))

Referee: Chris Beath

Assistant Referee 1: Paul Cetrangolo

Assistant Referee 2: Nathan MacDonald

Fourth Official: Stephen Lucas

TV Broadcast: Live coverage on FOX SPORTS 505 from 7.00pm (AEDT) and Sky Sport 4 (New Zealand)


Radio Broadcast: Online & via the ABC Radio Mobile App – A-league Live

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tag #BigBlue

To purchase tickets visit

Sydney FC squad: 1.Vedran JANJETOVIC (gk), 2.Seb RYALL, 3.Alex GERSBACH, 5.Matt JURMAN, 6.Rob STAMBOLZIEV, 8.Milos DIMITRIJEVIC, 9.Shane SMELTZ, 10.Milos NINKOVIC, 12.Jacob TRATT, 13.Brandon O’NEILL, 14.Alex BROSQUE, 18.Matt SIMON, 19.Jacques FATY, 20.Ivan NECEVSKI (gk), 21.Filip HOLOSKO, 23.Rhyan GRANT, 24.George BLACKWOOD, 27.Mickael TAVARES

**Two to be omitted**

Ins: 6.Rob STAMBOLZIEV (promoted), 8.Milos DIMITRIJEVIC (return from injury), 12.Jacob TRATT (promoted)

Milos Dimitrijevic fights off the attention of Dimas.

Outs: 7.Andrew HOOLE (international duty)

Unavailable: 11.Christopher NAUMOFF (international duty), 22.Ali ABBAS (knee – indefinite)

Melbourne Victory squad: 1.Danny VUKOVIC (GK), 5.Daniel GEORGIEVSKI, 6.Leigh BROXHAM (c), 7.Gui FINKLER, 8.Besart BERISHA, 9.Kosta BARBAROUSES, 13.Oliver BOZANIC, 14.Fahid BEN KHALFALLAH, 16.Rashid MAHAZI, 17.Matthieu DELPIERRE, 18.Dylan MURNANE, 19.George HOWARD, 20.Lawrence THOMAS (GK), 22.Jesse MAKAROUNAS, 24.Thomas DENG, 31.Kieran DOVER, 32.Stefan NIGRO

**One to be omitted**

Ins: 16.Dylan MURNANE (promoted), 22.Jesse MAKAROUNAS (promoted), 31.Kieran DOVER (promoted), 32.Stefan NIGRO (promoted)

Fahid Ben Khalfallah celebrates scoring the opener with Besart Berisha.

Outs: 2.Jason GERIA (international duty), 11.Connor PAIN (international duty), 21.Carl VALERI (suspended – 1 week)

Unavailable: 3.Scott GALLOWAY (international duty), 4.Nick ANSELL (injured), 10.Archie THOMPSON (injured), 15.Giancarlo GALLIFUOCO (international duty)


Sydney FC will be desperate to keep their unbeaten record intact when they welcome newly crowned FFA Cup champions Melbourne Victory on Saturday night.

Graham Arnold’s men have conceded a miserly two goals this season but haven’t beaten the Big V in their last six encounters – headlined by last season’s grand final smashing at AAMI Park.

They say revenge is a dish best served cold but the Sky Blues will need to be red-hot to beat a Victory side brimming with confidence.

Melbourne Victory

After an inauspicious start to their title defence, Kevin Muscat’s side got things back on track with a comprehensive 3-0 win over the Phoenix in their last league outing.

They’ll be missing suspended skipper Carl Valeri and four of their Olyroos but hope to have Mark Viduka medalist Kosta Barbarouses available following All Whites duty in Oman.

After FFA Cup celebrations it's now back to business for Victory against their bitter rivals.


 •         Sydney are unbeaten in their last four home Hyundai A-League matches against the Victory (W1 D3).
 •         In contrast, the Victory are unbeaten in their last six in A-League meetings with Sydney (W2 D4) – with both wins coming in the end of season play-offs.
 •         Sydney have kept more clean sheets than any other A-League side this season (3) and are the only unbeaten side.
 •         Melbourne Victory striker Besart Berisha has scored 11 goals in his last 13 games (inc. play-offs and FFA Cup).


The first goal on Saturday night will be monumental in deciding how this one plays out.

Marquee striker Filip Holosko has failed to add to his lone goal scored on the opening weekend and will be desperate to prove his worth in a Big Blue.

Filip Holosko (Sydney FC) - His best game for Sydney. Played a huge part in the Sky Blues’ first two goals.

Conversely Victory’s marquee talisman Besart Berisha can’t stop scoring at the moment – netting 11 goals in his last 13 appearances in all competitions.

Despite their outs there’s no shortage of firepower at Kevin Muscat’s disposal with Bozanic, Barbarouses and Ben Khalfallah all finding the back of the net this season.

The sides couldn’t be separated during the regular season in 2014/15, with the three draws including two 3-3 results.


Victory legend Archie Thompson. The talisman may not be playing in this Big Blue, but according to teammate Leigh Broxham, the striker could be back soon to torment A-League defences.

Broxham buoyant as Archie's A-League return nears

Archie Thompson lifts the Hyundai A-League Championship trophy.


Sydney FC: DWWWD

Melbourne Victory: DWLW


Sydney FC 1 Melbourne Victory 1