Hyundai A-League & National Youth League Finals Preview

All the in's and out's for both the Hyundai A-League and National Youth League finals matches


It-s down to business this Saturday as Adelaide United and Queensland Roar battle it in the Hyundai A-League Final Series, presented by FOXTEL - but which team has what it takes?

Teams will need to play the perfect match for the second spot in the Grand Final.

The winner of the Preliminary Final match will face Melbourne Victory on Saturday 28 February at the Telstra Dome, Melbourne, 7.30pm AEDT.

3 teams, 2 games but only 1 champion.

Weekend Matches

Adelaide United v Queensland Roar Saturday 21 February, 2009 Hindmarsh Stadium, Adelaide Local kick off 6.30pm (7.00pm AEDT) Referee. Strebre Delovski

Live and exclusive broadcast on FOX Sports 3, Sky Sport 2 and FRESH FM, ABC Radio SA and QLD. To purchase tickets visit

Adelaide United squad: 20.Eugene GALEKOVIC (gk), 2.Robert CORNTHWAITE, 3.ALEMAO, 4.Angelo COSTANZO, 5. Michael VALKANIS, 7.Lucas PANTELIS, 9.Paul AGOSTINO, 10.CRISTIANO, 13.Travis DODD (capt.), 14.Scott JAMIESON, 15.Jonas SALLEY, 16.Daniel MULLEN, 18.Fabian BARBIERO, 19.Sasa OGNENOVSKI, 22.DIEGO, 24.Paul REID, 25.Robert YOUNIS, 27.Michael MARRONE, 28.Rostyn GRIFFITHS, 30.Mark BIRIGHITTI (gk) four to be omitted

In: Angelo COSTANZO (promoted), Jonas SALLEY (promoted), DIEGO (promoted), Robert YOUNIS (promoted), Michael VALKANIS (returns from injury)

Out: CASSIO (suspended - 1 match)

Others Unavailable: Kristian SARKIES (ankle - 2 weeks), Daniel BELTRAME (gk) (knee - season), Jason SPAGNUOLO (long term injury)

Queensland Roar Squad: 1.Liam REDDY (gk), 2.Andrew PACKER, 3.Luke DEVERE, 4.Craig MOORE, 6.David DODD, 7.Michael ZULLO, 8.Massimo MURDOCCA, 9.Sergio VAN DIJK, 10.Charlie MILLER, 14.Ben GRIFFIN, 15.Matt McKAY, 16.Hyuk-Su SEO, 17.Mitch NICHOLS, 18.Danny TIATTO, 19.Isaka CERNAK (61-), 20.Griffin McMASTER, 33.HENRIQUE. one to be omitted

In: 18.Danny TIATTO

Out: Nil

Others Unavailable: 5.Josh McCLOUGHAN (groin - season), 11.REINALDO (groin - season), 12.Tahj MINNIECON (hip - 1 week).

Stats, Facts & Milestones

Adelaide United will become the most experienced Hyundai A-League finals series team this weekend, the 2009 Preliminary Final being the club-s tenth Hyundai A-League finals match. Despite having most finals appearances, Adelaide are the only club with finals experience yet to win a finals match (apart from one win on penalties), a statistical anomaly the Reds will be striving to fix this Saturday.

Having won their previous four matches, Queensland Roar are aiming to win five in a row for only the third time in the history of the Hyundai A-League - only Adelaide United (2005/06 season) and Melbourne Victory (2006/07) have won more than four consecutive matches before.

Adelaide United-s Lucas Pantelis is set to make his 50th Hyundai A-League appearance.

HEAD-TO-HEAD RECORDS in all official competitions All matches (played 12): Adelaide United wins 5, Queensland Roar wins 2 (5 draws). In Adelaide (played 6): Adelaide United wins 2, Queensland Roar wins 2 (2 draws).

Hyundai A-League Preliminary Final flashbacks

Hyundai A-League 2006 Preliminary Final Adelaide United 0 - Central Coast Mariners 1 (Hindmarsh Stadium)

Hyundai A-League 2007 Preliminary Final Adelaide United 1 (4pen) - Newcastle Jets 1 (3pen) after extra time (Hindmarsh Stadium)

Hyundai A-League 2007 Preliminary Final Newcastle Jets 3 - Queensland Roar 2 after extra time (EnergyAustralia Stadium)


This is the official FFA preview for the National Youth League (NYL) Grand Final.

The National Youth League (NYL) Grand Final will be played as a curtain-raiser prior to the Preliminary Final.

The inaugural National Youth League Grand Final will be shown live and exclusive on FOX SPORTS 3 this Saturday from 2.30pm local time (ACDT), 3.00pm AEDT.

Sydney FC (1) v Adelaide United (2) Saturday 21 February, 2009 Hindmarsh Stadium, Adelaide Local kick off 2.30pm ACDT (3.00pm AEDT) Referee. Kris Griffiths-Jones

Live and exclusive broadcast on FOX Sports 3.

Sydney FC Squad: Vedran JANJETOVIC (gk), Luke AUSTIN, Zach CAIRNCROSS, Kofi DANNING, Brendan GAN, Antony GOLEC, Rhyan GRANT, Matthew HALL, Ibrahim HAYDAR, Matthew JURMAN, Steve LUSTICA, Robbie MILESKI, Sam MUNRO, Chris PAYNE, Chris TRIANTIS (c). *one to be omitted

Unavailable: Nil

Adelaide United Squad: Joel ALLWRIGHT, Lucas ANDREUCCI (gk), Angelo ARAMBATSIS, Mark BIRIGHITTI (gk), Andrew CIARLA, Joseph COSTA, Michael DE BONO, Michael DOYLE, Osama MALIK, Michael MARRONE, Francesco MONTEROSSO, Matthew MULLEN, Alexander SUNASKY (c), Shane TOBIAS, Scott WEIDENBACH

Unavailable: Nil