Hyundai A-League heats up with the Summer of Football

The Hyundai A-League today launched its traditional Summer of Football that will see 16 matches in 17 days during the Christmas/New Year festive season.

The Hyundai A-League today launched its traditional Summer of Football that will see 16 matches in 17 days over Australia and New Zealand during the Christmas/New Year festive season.

Global football icons Alessandro Del Piero and Shinji Ono joined FFA CEO David Gallop to kick off the Summer of Football at one of Australia-s most recognisable summer playgrounds, Sydney-s Bondi Beach.

The Summer of Football kicks off tomorrow night with the first ever Hyundai A-League match at North Sydney Oval when the Central Coast Mariners take on Wellington Phoenix.

The 16 matches in 17 days include games on Boxing Day (Sydney FC v Brisbane Roar), New Year-s Eve (Central Coast v Perth Glory) and New Year-s Day (Western Sydney Wanderers v Wellington Phoenix).

The big fixtures include a Melbourne derby this Saturday night and the marquee Melbourne Victory v Western Sydney Wanderers clash on 28 December.

“The Hyundai A-League is a cool way to inject some genuine sporting passion into the holiday season,” said David Gallop.

“Boxing Day and New Year-s Day in Sydney, News Year-s Eve in Gosford, a Melbourne derby and almost daily football action around Australia makes this an exciting time for football fans.

“The Hyundai A-League continues to grow in stature and popularity and we-re looking forward to seeing more big crowds in the holiday period.”

It-s football-s Time to Shine as the growth of the last two seasons has continued in 2013/14. TV audiences are up 31%, crowds up 9%, membership up 38%, and the Hyundai A-League-s avid fan base is up 14%.

Go to for tickets and check and for TV broadcast information.

Hyundai A-League Summer of Football (all times are AEDT)

Dec 19 Central Coast v Wellington North Sydney Oval 7.30pm Dec 20 Brisbane Roar v Newcastle Jets Suncorp Stadium 8.00pm Dec 21 Melbourne Heart v Melbourne Victory AAMI Park 7.45pm Dec 22 Wellington Phoenix v Sydney FC Westpac Stadium 5.00pm Dec 22 Perth Glory v Adelaide United nib Stadium 7.00pm Dec 23 Western Sydney v Central Coast Pirtek Stadium 7.00pm Dec 26 Sydney FC v Brisbane Roar Allianz Stadium 7.30pm Dec 27 Melbourne Heart v Wellington Phoenix AAMI Park 7.30pm Dec 28 Melbourne Victory v Western Sydney AAMI Park 7.45pm Dec 29 Adelaide United v Newcastle Jets Coopers Stadium 5.00pm Dec 31 Central Coast Mariners v Perth Glory Bluetongue Stadium 6.00pm Jan 1 Western Sydney v Wellington Pirtek Stadium 7.00pm Jan 3 Adelaide United v Sydney FC Coopers Stadium 7.30pm Jan 4 Newcastle Jets v Perth Glory Hunter Stadium 5.30pm Jan 4 Melbourne Victory v Brisbane Roar AAMI Park 7.45pm Jan 5 Central Coast v Melbourne Heart Bluetongue Stadium 5.00pm

Summer of Football - Live

You can follow all the Summer of Football action by checking back to throughout the festive period.

We'll have unique Summer content bringing football to the fans as well as all the news surrounding upcoming Hyundai A-League matches.

You can send us your tweets of where and how you are enjoying the Summer of Football. #SummerFootball. With 16 matches in 17 days it's guaranteed to be a busy period!