Hyundai A-League Grand Final: Who'll win the Joe Marston Medal?

Heroes will be made when Newcastle Jets and Melbourne Victory meet in tonight's much-anticipated Hyundai A-League 2018 Grand Final at McDonald Jones Stadium.

It's set to be a wonderful occasion and, while the Champions Trophy is the silverware both teams desire most of all, there is another treasured honour up for grabs.

The Joe Marston Medal is awarded to the player of the match in the Hyundai A-League Grand Final.

Here are six candidates who loom as strong contenders for this season's coveted accolade.

Dimi Petratos (Newcastle Jets)

He's been the Jets' best player in 2017/18, scoring and creating goals and driving his side to many crucial victories. The newly-capped Caltex Socceroos attacker has the ability to provide the moments of inspiration which can decide tight contests. Petratos finished joint-second in the Johnny Warren Medal.

Dimitri Petratos
Dimi Petratos is capable of conjuring magic.

Leroy George (Melbourne Victory)

The former Netherlands international has been exceptional in his first season in the Hyundai A-League. A direct, pacy winger, he has added X-factor to Victory's attacking moves and offers an all-round contribution in the front third, with his goals often arriving in spectacular fashion.

Leroy George
Leroy George has proved an inspired signing.

Nigel Boogaard (Newcastle Jets)

The last time the Jets won the Hyundai A-League Grand Final, Andrew Durante won the Joe Marston Medal. Could a defender do it again? Newcastle captain Nigel Boogaard beat the odds to make a miraculous recovery in time for the Semi Final, a huge boost for a team that looks to the local lad for inspiration.

Nigel Boogaard
Nigel Boogaard has been a rock at the back.

Besart Berisha (Melbourne Victory)

Nothing goes together like Besart Berisha and the Hyundai A-League Finals Series. The steely-eyed striker is already in possession of three winners medals and boasts 10 post-season goals, five of which have come in Grand Finals.

Besart Berisha is the ultimate big-game player.

Steven Ugarkovic (Newcastle Jets)

A quiet achiever and unsung hero in Newcastle's engine room, the 23-year-old has started every one of his team's 28 games this season. With Ben Kantarovski sidelined, Ugarkovic will shoulder much of the responsibility for smothering Victory's attacking threats. Do that effectively and it will play a big role in securing the silverware.

Steven Ugarkovic shapes as the Jets' main man in midfield.

Terry Antonis (Melbourne Victory)

Rarely has there been a story of redemption like the one starring the Victory midfielder in last weekend's Semi Final, when his late winner erased the despair of the own goal that had thrown Sydney FC a lifeline. He had arguably been the standout in that match and enters the decider on an emotional high.

Terry Antonis has already created a memorable moment this Finals Series.


2006 Dwight Yorke (Sydney FC)

2007 Archie Thompson (Melbourne Victory)

2008 Andrew Durante (Newcastle Jets)

2009 Tom Pondeljak (Melbourne Victory)

2010 Simon Colosimo (Sydney FC)

2011 Mat Ryan (Central Coast Mariners)

2012 Jacob Burns (Perth Glory)

2013 Daniel McBreen (Central Coast Mariners)

2014 Thomas Broich (Brisbane Roar) and Iacopo La Rocca (Western Sydney Wanderers)

2015 Mark Milligan (Melbourne Victory)

2016 Isaias (Adelaide United)

2017 Daniel Georgievski (Melbourne Victory)