Hyundai A-League 2018 Grand Final: history on Jets' side

It's called home advantage for a reason.

As the Newcastle Jets prepare to host the Hyundai A-League Grand Final for the first time, they can draw comfort from history.

Just once in the previous 12 seasons has the host of the Grand Final lost the competition decider.

That was in the Hyundai A-League 2009/10 season when Melbourne Victory welcomed Sydney FC to Etihad Stadium, only to lose 4-2 on penalties.



Two other Grand Finals have been played at neutral venues.

The 2007/08 decider was played in Sydney, with Newcastle claiming their maiden Championship, beating Central Coast Mariners 1-0.

Five years later, the Mariners were involved again, beating Western Sydney Wanderers 2-0, also at a neutral Sydney venue.

But the remaining nine Hyundai A-League Grand Finals have all been won by the hosts.

Brisbane Roar hosted three finals in four years at Suncorp Stadium and won them all.



Sydney FC hosted the first and the most recent Grand Finals, winning both.

And Victory have hosted four Grand Finals in all, winning three of those.

Adelaide United moved from their traditional home ground to Adelaide Oval two years ago and won their first Championship in front of over 50-thousand fans at Adelaide Oval.



At a glance: Hyundai A-League Grand Final winners

2005/06: Sydney FC hosted and won

2006/07: Victory hosted and won

2007/08: Neutral venue (Sydney), Newcastle Jets won

2008/09: Victory hosted and won

2009/10: Victory hosted and lost

2010/11: Brisbane hosted and won

2011/12: Brisbane hosted and won

2012/13: Neutral venue (Sydney), Central Coast Mariners won

2013/14: Brisbane hosted and won

2014/15: Victory hosted and won

2015/16: Adelaide hosted and won

2016/17: Sydney FC hosted and won